Menu
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Scorpius4785
Joining in
499 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Does the Age and Specification of the Exterior Co-Axial Cable Effect The Maximum Capable Line Speed ?

I have had virgin broadband since 31 Dec 2013 on 50Mb bundle. The Installation Engineer changed the Comcast box inside the property to a Virgin Media Internal cover box (white) and left the property.

He did no change any of the exterior cables or connections to the property in 2013, yet the cable was installed originally outside the property in the in 1998 when Comcast/NTL first arrived in the UK; this results in the exterioring cable between my property and the access node ( service box ) being over 15 years old and antiquated technology in accordance todays technology. The maximum line speed of co-axial cable in 2000's was 100 Mbps this was the maximum due to the guage of the cable and lack shielding and and poor frequency ranges capable of transmission along a single wire.  I have had you upgrade the line speed twice from 50 to 100 and then finally to M200 in Nov 2017 and I have never got more than 90 Mbps Down and but I get a consistant 20 Mbps upload. 

I called faults on Tuesday last week and they sent a brand new SH3 which I installed yesterday and at the same time  also questioned why my external cables had not been upgraded, like my next door neighbour had installed re-pulled  by Virgin Media  6 months prior to my new installation in Dec 2013. The dowload speed is the same on SH2 I had from Dec 2013, even with the newly sent flagship router (SH3) the down load speed is still capping at 80 Mbps and the upload is consistant at 20 Mbps. I called faults again Today to ask for a Technician to be sent to my property to inspect external cables and to ensure that they fit for purpose in provinding the line speed I have been paying since Nov 2017 (19 Months when you Increased to M200) and after over 2 hrs on the phone to faults I get told that they my broadband is working and they would raise a complaint for me and they can do nothing for me gave a complaint ref and hung up the call. I then spoke with disconnections and they stated they would get a technician booked to test the lines outside, he then put me hold and blind transferred me back to faults where I had explain the whole thing again. Finally after 3 hours on phone call you booked a engineer to come at the end of next week. 

I have been screen capping my speed test results for the last 2 months and they have gone above 90 Mbps Download  and the upload is 10-20 Mbps. I feel that I have been paying for a product/service the M200 package for 19 Months yet the exterior cables installed at my property, supplied and maintained by Virgin Media are not Fit for Purpose and that the exterior cables should have been replaced and re-pulled in Dec 2013 and they never were. 

I will be asking the technician if the co-axial cable I have currently installed outside is capable of transmitting the above a 100 Mbps because I firmly believe that external cabling and connections currently installed are not fit for purpose and fall well below current industry standards and have detrimental effect on the line speed I pay for.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.12K
  • 1K
  • 3.04K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
489 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does the Age and Specification of the Exterior Co-Axial Cable Effect The Maximum Capable Line Speed

an interesting theory - i cannot say you dont have a problem with the external cable but i doubt it - mine was installed over 20 years ago - i think at the time down speed was 512 - thats half a meg - it now works quite happyly at 350 down - all internal wiring and boxes are original - so old wiring is fine 

as to your slow speeds it could be many things - 80/90 is typical of a 10/100 network card assuming you are testing wired - it could also be the lan cable - cat5e or better is needed - levels could be wrong - etc etc - changing the hub is not the magic wand offshore think - if its slow with your existing hub its not going to change by sending you a hub3 but thats a bit too deep for offshore who get stuck after turn it off and on again

so are you testing wired is the first question - is the network card gigabit is the second and the third is what is the spec of the ethernet cable

after that

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

worry about those things rather than a conspiracy theory that its old cables 

 

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 203
  • 19
  • 47
tekmobile
Superfast
456 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does the Age and Specification of the Exterior Co-Axial Cable Effect The Maximum Capable Line Speed


@Scorpius4785 wrote:

I have had virgin broadband since 31 Dec 2013 on 50Mb bundle. The Installation Engineer changed the Comcast box inside the property to a Virgin Media Internal cover box (white) and left the property.

He did no change any of the exterior cables or connections to the property in 2013, yet the cable was installed originally outside the property in the in 1998 when Comcast/NTL first arrived in the UK; this results in the exterioring cable between my property and the access node ( service box ) being over 15 years old and antiquated technology in accordance todays technology. The maximum line speed of co-axial cable in 2000's was 100 Mbps this was the maximum due to the guage of the cable and lack shielding and and poor frequency ranges capable of transmission along a single wire.  I have had you upgrade the line speed twice from 50 to 100 and then finally to M200 in Nov 2017 and I have never got more than 90 Mbps Down and but I get a consistant 20 Mbps upload. 

I called faults on Tuesday last week and they sent a brand new SH3 which I installed yesterday and at the same time  also questioned why my external cables had not been upgraded, like my next door neighbour had installed re-pulled  by Virgin Media  6 months prior to my new installation in Dec 2013. The dowload speed is the same on SH2 I had from Dec 2013, even with the newly sent flagship router (SH3) the down load speed is still capping at 80 Mbps and the upload is consistant at 20 Mbps. I called faults again Today to ask for a Technician to be sent to my property to inspect external cables and to ensure that they fit for purpose in provinding the line speed I have been paying since Nov 2017 (19 Months when you Increased to M200) and after over 2 hrs on the phone to faults I get told that they my broadband is working and they would raise a complaint for me and they can do nothing for me gave a complaint ref and hung up the call. I then spoke with disconnections and they stated they would get a technician booked to test the lines outside, he then put me hold and blind transferred me back to faults where I had explain the whole thing again. Finally after 3 hours on phone call you booked a engineer to come at the end of next week. 

I have been screen capping my speed test results for the last 2 months and they have gone above 90 Mbps Download  and the upload is 10-20 Mbps. I feel that I have been paying for a product/service the M200 package for 19 Months yet the exterior cables installed at my property, supplied and maintained by Virgin Media are not Fit for Purpose and that the exterior cables should have been replaced and re-pulled in Dec 2013 and they never were. 

I will be asking the technician if the co-axial cable I have currently installed outside is capable of transmitting the above a 100 Mbps because I firmly believe that external cabling and connections currently installed are not fit for purpose and fall well below current industry standards and have detrimental effect on the line speed I pay for.

 


Unless it's phisically damaged then no it does not make a difference.

 

Also I believe you mean telewest not comcast 



--------
I do not work for virgin media any opinions I have are my own
I will help out when possible but know that some information may be incorrect or out of date

If you find any post helpful don't forget to click the kudos button and mark answers as helpful as this may help other users with the same questions
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Scorpius4785
Joining in
445 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does the Age and Specification of the Exterior Co-Axial Cable Effect The Maximum Capable Line Speed

Cat5: A Little Older, A Little Slower

Category 5 cabling, also known as Cat5, is an older type of network cabling. Cat5 cables were made to support theoretical speeds of 10Mbps and 100Mbps. You may be able to get gigabit speeds on a Cat5 cable, particularly if the cable is shorter, but it isn't always guaranteed.

Since Cat5 is an older type of cabling, you probably won't see them very much in the store, but you may have gotten some with an older router, switch or other networking device.

Cat5e: Faster with Less Interference

Category 5 enhanced cabling, also known as Cat5e, is an improvement on Cat5 cabling. It was made to support 1000 Mbps "gigabit" speeds, so in theory, it's faster than Cat5. It it also cuts down on crosstalk, the interference you can sometimes get between wires inside the cable. Both of these improvements mean you're more likely to get fast, reliable speed out of Cat5e cabling compared to Cat5.

Cat6: Even Faster, But Not Super Necessary

Category 6 cabling is the next step up from Cat5e and includes a few more improvements. It has even stricter specifications when it comes to interference, and its capable of 10-Gigabit speeds in some cases. You probably won't use these speeds in your home, and the extra interference improvements won't make a huge difference in regular usage, so you don't exactly need to rush out and upgrade to Cat6. But, if you're buying a new cable, you might as well, since it is an improvement over its predecessor.

 

I have running from my house to the node a lenght of CAT V not CAT 5E and now industry standards are CAT 6 so it does make a differnce so i feel and yes course physical damage to any cable connection but the cable is not damaged it is not suited to gigabit data speeds as aforementioned. I have a degree in computer sciences and have workd in the telecomuncations industry in the installation of servers so i amfully aware of cables and there limitations. I have no issues with the way I am testing the connection via speedtest under there instruction

If I only had the 100Mbps Service from Virgin (as I did in the Past which they double and then cahrged me for) the current cable outside is fine, but when I have been paying for 200 Mbps and that line not capable of taking the service to the physical limitations of the materials that being a CATV Connectiont their node at the access  point for my subcriber line.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 203
  • 19
  • 47
tekmobile
Superfast
443 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does the Age and Specification of the Exterior Co-Axial Cable Effect The Maximum Capable Line Speed

The original question was about the external cable and this is the same specification coax cable that has been layed for the last 20 years

VM and past cable operators never used category 5/5e cables it's always been coax and always the same standard so I don't know why the long post of different category types of twisted pair when it's irrelevant to the original question

As for cable gauge this does not affect the speed just the attenuation which always gets reduced as it's still usually too high.

The reasons it's faster now than it was back when is was first installed is to do with the euro docsis standards and not the cable 

 



--------
I do not work for virgin media any opinions I have are my own
I will help out when possible but know that some information may be incorrect or out of date

If you find any post helpful don't forget to click the kudos button and mark answers as helpful as this may help other users with the same questions
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Scorpius4785
Joining in
439 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does the Age and Specification of the Exterior Co-Axial Cable Effect The Maximum Capable Line Speed

Downstream Results 1 299000000 -1 38 256 qam 21 2 203000000 2 40 256 qam 9 3 211000000 2 40 256 qam 10 4 219000000 1.2 40 256 qam 11 5 227000000 1.2 40 256 qam 12 6 235000000 0.9 40 256 qam 13 7 243000000 0.5 40 256 qam 14 8 251000000 0.2 40 256 qam 15 9 259000000 0 40 256 qam 16 10 267000000 0 40 256 qam 17 11 275000000 -0.5 38 256 qam 18 12 283000000 -0.7 40 256 qam 19 13 291000000 -0.9 38 256 qam 20 14 307000000 -1.5 40 256 qam 22 15 315000000 -1.5 38 256 qam 23 16 323000000 -1.9 38 256 qam 24 17 427000000 -5.2 38 256 qam 25 18 435000000 -5.2 38 256 qam 26 19 443000000 -5.5 38 256 qam 27 20 451000000 -6 38 256 qam 28 21 459000000 -6 38 256 qam 29 22 467000000 -6.5 38 256 qam 30 23 475000000 -6.5 38 256 qam 31 24 483000000 -6.4 38 256 qam 32 Downstream bonded channels Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors 1 Locked 38.9 1014 0 2 Locked 40.3 238 0 3 Locked 40.3 273 0 4 Locked 40.9 272 0 5 Locked 40.9 368 0 6 Locked 40.3 591 0 7 Locked 40.3 666 0 8 Locked 40.9 593 0 9 Locked 40.3 592 0 10 Locked 40.3 728 0 11 Locked 38.6 995 0 12 Locked 40.9 1164 0 13 Locked 38.9 985 0 14 Locked 40.3 1220 0 15 Locked 38.9 1573 0 16 Locked 38.9 1568 0 17 Locked 38.9 5088 0 18 Locked 38.9 5171 0 19 Locked 38.9 4564 0 20 Locked 38.6 5166 0 21 Locked 38.9 7189 0 22 Locked 38.6 9911 0 23 Locked 38.6 10492 0 24 Locked 38.9 9874 0 Upstream results Upstream bonded channels Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID 1 39400000 4.025 5120 64 qam 2 2 25800000 3.9 5120 64 qam 4 3 32600000 3.95 5120 64 qam 3 4 46200000 4.175 5120 64 qam 1 Upstream bonded channels Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts 1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0 2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0 3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0 4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0 Configuration Refresh data General Configuration Network access Allowed Maximum Number of CPEs 1 Baseline Privacy Enabled DOCSIS Mode Docsis30 Config file cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm Primary Downstream Service Flow SFID 37456 Max Traffic Rate 230000061 Max Traffic Burst 42600 Min Traffic Rate 0 Primary Upstream Service Flow SFID 37455 Max Traffic Rate 22000061 Max Traffic Burst 42600 Min Traffic Rate 0 Max Concatenated Burst 42600 Scheduling Type BestEffort Network log Refresh data Network Log Time Priority Description 01/01/1970 00:01:26 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 01/01/1970 00:01:26 Warning! MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 01/01/1970 00:01:41 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 19/07/2019 13:36:40 notice SW Download INIT - Via Config file 19/07/2019 13:39:12 Error Disruption during SW download - Power Failure 19/07/2019 13:39:26 notice SW Download INIT - Via Config file 19/07/2019 13:41:57 notice SW download Successful - Via Config file 01/01/1970 00:01:36 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 19/07/2019 18:57:11 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 01/01/1970 00:01:29 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 01/01/1970 00:01:29 Warning! MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 01/01/1970 00:01:44 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; I use a netgear nighthawk D7000 wireless router connected to the SH in modem mode. I can then test fixed wired on CAT 5 , 6 or 7 ethernet cable to both a X470 Auros Gaming Motherboard, and MacBook Pro with i7 and get 70-80 Mbps Down and 10-20 Mbps Up, I then connect my 5G mobile phone to my router via wireless and I get the same results of 80 Mbps and 20 Mbps Up. I do not have an issue with my hardware limitations both in terms of cabling, networking / routing and network cards they are connected to the virgin router. I have tested my macbook on my neighbours virgin media M200 line and I get 170-180 Mbps Down and 21 Mbps Up. I have a sound knowlege of IT Applications and Network Insfrastructure and you are suggesting that my equipment( Nighthawk Router,CAT 7 Cable and £4000 Gaming PC / Macbook Pro with i7) is not upto par to test the speed properly, My Hardware is not the issue.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 203
  • 19
  • 47
tekmobile
Superfast
436 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does the Age and Specification of the Exterior Co-Axial Cable Effect The Maximum Capable Line Speed

I didn't say it was you're equipment or denying you have a issue but the question was about the coax coming into the property and it's specifications

Just stating that the specifications of the coax has not changed and unless it has phisically been damaged it will not affect your speed.

The same cable will do multiple gigabit speeds once everything has been upgraded to euro docsis 3.1 without issues

 

Those stats mean nothing to me it's too hard to read without proper formatting 

As for networking experience mine is just fine I'm running enterprise grade equipment with a watchguard XTM5 firebox running pfsense with multiple wan connections of VM and mobile and multiple lan connections one is the internal network connected to a ubiquity ac pro access point and the other lan is isolated from the outside world and has CCTV cameras connected and a isolated edimax access point for some wifi cameras 



--------
I do not work for virgin media any opinions I have are my own
I will help out when possible but know that some information may be incorrect or out of date

If you find any post helpful don't forget to click the kudos button and mark answers as helpful as this may help other users with the same questions
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.61K
  • 311
  • 771
Roger_Gooner
Superstar
428 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does the Age and Specification of the Exterior Co-Axial Cable Effect The Maximum Capable Line Speed

You may have a degree in computer sciences and have worked in the telecomuncations industry but you don't know a thing about cable broadband. You have a problem because the power levels of downstream channels 20-24 are too low (but upstreams are fine). Check that all cable connections between the wall termination and hub are tight, if they are and you still have a problem then you need another technician to visit you (unless there is an area fault).

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.8K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.56K
griffin
Alessandro Volta
428 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does the Age and Specification of the Exterior Co-Axial Cable Effect The Maximum Capable Line Speed

@Scorpius4785 wrote:

 

<SNIP>

I have running from my house to the node a lenght of CAT V not CAT 5E and now industry standards are CAT 6 so it does make a differnce so i feel and yes course physical damage to any cable connection but the cable is not damaged it is not suited to gigabit data speeds as aforementioned. I have a degree in computer sciences and have workd in the telecomuncations industry in the installation of servers so i amfully aware of cables and there limitations. I have no issues with the way I am testing the connection via speedtest under there instruction

If I only had the 100Mbps Service from Virgin (as I did in the Past which they double and then cahrged me for) the current cable outside is fine, but when I have been paying for 200 Mbps and that line not capable of taking the service to the physical limitations of the materials that being a CATV Connectiont their node at the access  point for my subcriber line.  


Do you mean from your house to the external street cabinet?

If so, I have no idea how you have come to the conclusion that you have CAT 5 cable running from your house to the street cab.
VM do not use ethernet cable to connect the street cab to homes, but coax cable, probably RG11, the RG or Radio Grade standard has been around since the '40s

A quick inspection of your stats suggest a local circuit impairment, but due to the poor formatting WOT, I can't give it a more detailed inspection.

  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Scorpius4785
Joining in
421 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does the Age and Specification of the Exterior Co-Axial Cable Effect The Maximum Capable Line Speed

I believe looking at the Exterior Cable it is RG59 CATV Co-axial cable connection to the node and the same cable RG59 CATV runs around the exterior to the rear to the interior wall connection then a RG6 cable to the SH3 Co-axial conectio. I know my neighbours cable is significantly thicker siginificantyl better shielded than my current installation, as RG59 CATV is generally suited to CCTV and Video Recording applications due to limitations on signal loss, cable length restrications and max range frequency transmitted down the copper core the co-axial. The specifcation (RG 59, RG6 or RG11 CATV Co-axial) of the cable running into my property does effect the qulaity of service as if that were not the case, why do I get 170 Mbps Down and 20 Mbps Up on his M200 line and only 70-80 Mbps on my line and 20 Mbps Up. I have eliminated all other possible faults and checked my equipment on another virgin subsciption and its runs as it should . I hope the engineer takes one look at the cabling to my property as books it in to be replaced, as if they replace the cables outside and I still get 70 Mbps then I will disconnect account and move else where for half the cost for the speed I currently receive. If the line speed increases to what it should be on an M200 line or at leasta minimum 107Mbps then i would happily sign a enter into a new contract, with Virgin.
0 Kudos
Reply