cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Diabolical broadband

Shahid1290
Joining in

Is anyone else experiencing issues with the broadband service?

I am an IT consultant who depends on the internet. This service has been so flakey that I have had to resort to tethering to my mobile via 4G.

I have had this broadband service for 12 months now and there hasn't been a single day when the internet hasn't died for no apparent reason or the router randomly resets itself.

I have spoke to the tech team countless time and they seem to he reading off some crib sheet asking the same question about connecting the computer directly using a network cable, It is rather frustrating.

I am now resorting to using 4G/5G all around the house, I just want to cancel this broadband but virgin are holding me to the contract term which I feel is totally unfair and the service is disgusting.

3 REPLIES 3

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

OK so can you answer the same question VM asked you - bearing in mind VM only guarantee connections on ethernet cable connected devices - not wifi ones.

So... are the issues only evident on wifi connections or do you see them at the same times on devices connected on ethernet cables? If you don't know, can you do a check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection related?

Different solutions to those two issues apply and we can thus focus on the most likley first

What Hub model is it and what are the various Hub lights showing/doing when this happens?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired, 2 on WiFi) Hub5 in modem mode with Apple Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's & TP-Link Archer C64 WAP. On Volt 350Mbps, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.

The router sits right next to my computer and it is connected with an ethernet cable.