Menu
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
orthodoxuk
Joining in
442 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Continued low speed.

Hi, still trying to get my speeds anywhere near the advertised rate. Been checked before and supposedly fixed but never goes above 93Mbps. here's the modem details:

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12990000007.340256 qam21
21390000006.938256 qam1
31470000006.640256 qam2
41550000006.538256 qam3
51630000006.540256 qam4
61710000006.540256 qam5
71790000006.640256 qam6
81870000006.640256 qam7
91950000006.540256 qam8
102030000006.438256 qam9
112110000006.540256 qam10
122190000006.340256 qam11
132270000006.140256 qam12
142350000006.340256 qam13
15243000000640256 qam14
162510000006.440256 qam15
172590000006.540256 qam16
182670000006.640256 qam17
192750000006.840256 qam18
20283000000740256 qam19
212910000007.140256 qam20
22307000000740256 qam22
233150000007.140256 qam23
243230000007.440256 qam24


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.973189905
2Locked38.92642240358
3Locked40.34248525826
4Locked38.92202729877
5Locked40.32334122158
6Locked40.3970421673
7Locked40.3950921189
8Locked40.31781022569
9Locked40.3956222019
10Locked38.9895020237
11Locked40.3718514917
12Locked40.3983715774
13Locked40.3692013164
14Locked40.3834814251
15Locked40.3884222236
16Locked40.3642012632
17Locked40.3720714789
18Locked40.9466818253
19Locked40.9581013639
20Locked40.3511618988
21Locked40.3516122052
22Locked40.9723013296
23Locked40.3809217742
24Locked40.3572311819

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1394000004.625512064 qam2
2462000004.6512064 qam1
3326000004.625512064 qam3
4258000554.625512064 qam4


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

Won't allow me to post all the data?

Hopefully someone can help?

Thanks Paul.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.06K
  • 936
  • 1.42K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
438 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continued low speed.


@orthodoxuk wrote:

Hi, still trying to get my speeds anywhere near the advertised rate. Been checked before and supposedly fixed but never goes above 93Mbps. here's the modem details:

Thanks Paul.


What is your advertised speed?  93 sounds suspiciously like you have a 100mbps bottleneck somewhere.  How are you testing the speeds on wireless or an ethernet cabled device?  To test properly you need to put the Hub into modem mode and connect a gigabit enabled  pc/laptop by Cat5e/6 cable directly into the Hub - try that.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
orthodoxuk
Joining in
426 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continued low speed.

Hi, no I've had M350 since it was available. I've checked this with a cat6 directly into the modem and tested in modem mode and normally. I used the test that Virgin suggested. No matter what has been suggested in the past, it has never been above this by more than 10Mbps and is often lower, down around the mid 60's. I get by at this level but it's way below what I'm paying for!

Paul
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.06K
  • 936
  • 1.42K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
425 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continued low speed.

OK what make/model of device are you testing with (on cable) and can you post up the Network Card's tech specs

Here are a few recent posts from people with apparently throttled speeds that were due to other issues.

Dell speed problem

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Download-speeds/td-p/3894056

Get a New PC !

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Vivid-200-not-geting-full-speed/td-p/3905430

Cat5 v Cat5e cable

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Slow-speed-on-VIVID350/td-p/3991347

New WIFI adapter needed

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Laptop-wont-connect-to-Wifi/td-p/3944340/pa...

LAN App problems

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Slow-speed/td-p/3896582
https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=292364.0

Windows re-install

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Achieve-Full-Speed-In-Safe-Mode-Only/td-p/3...

Old Network Card driver

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Vivid-350-just-installed-but-relatively-low-speed-connect...

Bluetooth on the phone

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/2-Mbps-right-now-%EF%B8%8F/td-p/3935445

Browsers speed problem

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Slow-broadband/td-p/3960227

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Etherent-speed-slow/m-p/3912102#M202773

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Speed-Check-Only-get-maximum-80-instead-of-100/td-p/39522...

Using SamKnows Box

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Vivid-350-speed/td-p/3941298

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
orthodoxuk
Joining in
401 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continued low speed.

Hi, what do you mean by 'Device'. I don't have a network card, it's part of the processor. I have 4 computers available using either win 7 or win 10. I've used Chrome, Firefox and Edge results the same. In both safe and normal mode, results the same. They are all wired via Cat 6 cables no wifi used in this case. I'm not reinstalling 4 computers that all give the same results and bluetooth is irrelevant in this case. I'm using a hub 3 and all the ports are modern full spec GbE. As you can appreciate I have done everything I have been asked in the past and faults have been previously found and reported to have been fixed by Virgin but nothing has ever changed! Would really like to solve this.
Paul
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.06K
  • 936
  • 1.42K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
394 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continued low speed.

Very odd. Your stats look good - a few post RS errors that may well be historical so can you reboot the Hub to reset them to 0 and see if they start to build up again in the next day or two. You could also post up the network logs for completeness.
By device I mean pc/laptop/console/phone/etc.
As a last test do you have access to a gigabit enabled laptop (yours or a friend's) that can connect by Cat6 with the Hub in modem mode and run the test?

EDIT: just a thought - have you checked the config file in the Hub settings to prove you are actually provisioned for the 350 mbps service.  If you were upgraded from say vivid100 - it may not have been applied


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
orthodoxuk
Joining in
367 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continued low speed.

Hi, thanks for the reply. I'm sure at least one if not all are gigbit enabled and I'm running cat 6 already. I've order a new cable for the main machine and will retry in modem mode. Not sure where I would find the hub provisioning, can't find anything that specifically says which service I'm on?
Here's the latest logs:
Network Log
Time Priority Description
16/06/2019 13:34:7 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/06/2019 18:52:6 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/06/2019 00:09:47 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/06/2019 06:41:41 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:43 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 20:41:7 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2019 23:17:28 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2019 12:34:27 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2019 18:56:45 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2019 18:56:45 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2019 18:56:45 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2019 18:56:50 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2019 18:56:50 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2019 18:56:55 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2019 18:57:3 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2019 18:57:3 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/06/2019 15:23:37 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/06/2019 13:43:31 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2019 21:13:34 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2019 02:29:10 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Cheers, Paul
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
orthodoxuk
Joining in
336 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continued low speed.

Hi, a further update. Following something you said I have rechecked everything and discovered that the modem connecting two of the computers to the Hub for some reason had reset themselves tp 100Mps, correcting this has made a difference. So now I have 140 Mbps which is still very low but better than before. I take it that the 350 Mbps is a multi-connection speed because my single transfer speed is 51 Mbps, so this is relevant? I have replaced all the cables today with new high quality Cat 6a, which made no difference. So has anyone any ideas where to go next?

Paul
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.06K
  • 936
  • 1.42K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
334 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continued low speed.

Test the speed on a gigabit pc/laptop wired directly into the Hub which you have temporarily switched into modem mode. 20-30 metre runs of Cat5e/6 cable are <£10 - for testing purposes.
That should show 350+ - if not post back.

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
orthodoxuk
Joining in
326 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Continued low speed.

Hi, ok will do, but can you connect a pc directly to the modem out without any routing?

Paul
0 Kudos
Reply