Menu
Reply
sweetleaf
  • 39
  • 0
  • 7
On our wavelength
1,823 Views
Message 1 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Constant speed/stability issues!

Hi,

This is the second time I need to contact you as the broadband internet is awful once more! I am tired of not having a reliable internet service! The internet is really [BLEEP] (excuse my language)!

It is very unreliable and around peak time it goes down very often for 5-10 secs.

This is a current speed test. Bear in mind my connection is a 200Mbps one! Also take a look at the latency! 243ms!

 

 

speed_test.png

FYI, this is the conversation I had on Twitter with Virgin support:
https://virginmedia.response.lithium.com/portal/conversation/22754249

Regards,

Orestis

 

 

 [MOD EDIT: Inappropriate language removed, please review the Forum Guidelines]

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 6.85K
  • 1.31K
  • 1.89K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,818 Views
Message 2 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant speed/stability issues!

Hello

First of as not clear from your post, are you testing speed on wired or wireless ?

Can you also tried with a wired connection speedtest.net.

Can you please post your network stats from the hub
Open a Web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer) and enter the address http://192.168.0.1
Note: If you have enabled Modem Mode on your Hub 3.0 you will need to use 192.168.100.1 instead.
Do not login but click on where it says "Check Router Stats" and then copy and post from the following 4 tabs, Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network logs (if they are pasted then all personal information is * out) and we can check your power level, also while you about that can you please go around and check that all connectors to VM equipment are hand tight. Also while doing this please check for any damage to cable, or un-terminated connection without either coax or a terminator.
Also please run "Check service status" at the top right of this forum and call 0800 561 0061 to check for local issues.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
sweetleaf
  • 39
  • 0
  • 7
On our wavelength
1,803 Views
Message 3 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant speed/stability issues!

Hey DJ_Shadow1966

Thank you for the reply. 

I am on a wireless connection, sitting next to the router!

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500002.236256 qam21
21947500005.537256 qam8
32027500004.937256 qam9
42107500004.637256 qam10
52187500004.337256 qam11
62267500004.437256 qam12
72347500004.437256 qam13
82427500003.737256 qam14
92507500003.536256 qam15
102587500003.536256 qam16
112667500003.236256 qam17
122747500002.936256 qam18
132827500002.436256 qam19
142907500002.536256 qam20
153067500002.536256 qam22
163147500001.536256 qam23
173227500001.536256 qam24
18402750000-1.435256 qam25
19410750000-1.735256 qam26
20418750000-1.535256 qam27
21426750000-1.935256 qam28
22434750000-1.535256 qam29
23442750000-1.735256 qam30
24450750000-1.735256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.324613900
2Locked37.32217200
3Locked37.32973870
4Locked37.63535380
5Locked37.34543280
6Locked37.35523680
7Locked37.35592650
8Locked37.37857170
9Locked36.69328880
10Locked36.610959520
11Locked36.312400430
12Locked36.614966090
13Locked36.616456510
14Locked36.320899980
15Locked36.323083480
16Locked36.328913730
17Locked36.328466010
18Locked35.5134057940
19Locked35192414450
20Locked35.7154840310
21Locked35.5172997270
22Locked35.5162437200
23Locked35.7171883160
24Locked35.5185263780

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1602999774.775512064 qam1
2462000874.65512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
sweetleaf
  • 39
  • 0
  • 7
On our wavelength
1,801 Views
Message 4 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant speed/stability issues!

continued...

Network Logs:


Network Log
Time Priority Description
24/10/2019 21:02:20 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/10/2019 21:03:20 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/10/2019 21:51:20 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/10/2019 21:52:4 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/10/2019 22:15:51 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/10/2019 22:27:19 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/10/2019 22:28:6 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/10/2019 22:40:24 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/10/2019 22:57:25 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/10/2019 15:03:51 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/10/2019 15:26:41 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/10/2019 22:53:24 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/11/2019 14:28:36 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/11/2019 16:23:44 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/11/2019 22:37:20 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/11/2019 12:07:0 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2019 19:10:45 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2019 19:22:15 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2019 19:37:3 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2019 22:11:3 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;


FYI, I have removed some info from the logs as I am not really comfortable putting them online. 

Also pinging google.com:


macbook-pro:~ orestis$ ping www.google.com
PING www.google.com (216.58.204.68): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=0 ttl=54 time=29.532 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=2 ttl=54 time=29.844 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 3
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=4 ttl=54 time=103.601 ms
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=5 ttl=54 time=27.173 ms
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=6 ttl=54 time=44.664 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 7
Request timeout for icmp_seq 8
Request timeout for icmp_seq 9
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=10 ttl=54 time=25.649 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 11
Request timeout for icmp_seq 12
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=13 ttl=54 time=29.684 ms
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=14 ttl=54 time=24.886 ms
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=15 ttl=54 time=33.671 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 16
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=17 ttl=54 time=42.379 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 18
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=19 ttl=54 time=112.307 ms
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=20 ttl=54 time=59.431 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 21
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=22 ttl=54 time=106.779 ms
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=23 ttl=54 time=87.410 ms
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=24 ttl=54 time=24.473 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 25
Request timeout for icmp_seq 26
Request timeout for icmp_seq 27
Request timeout for icmp_seq 28
Request timeout for icmp_seq 29
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=30 ttl=54 time=25.062 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 31
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=32 ttl=54 time=28.741 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 33
Request timeout for icmp_seq 34
Request timeout for icmp_seq 35
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=36 ttl=54 time=21.151 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 37
Request timeout for icmp_seq 38
Request timeout for icmp_seq 39
Request timeout for icmp_seq 40
64 bytes from 216.58.204.68: icmp_seq=41 ttl=54 time=31.955 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 42
^C
--- www.google.com ping statistics ---
44 packets transmitted, 19 packets received, 56.8% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 21.151/46.757/112.307/30.338 ms

The connection is really bad. I have a hard time even posting on the forum!

 

Regards,

Orestis

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 6.85K
  • 1.31K
  • 1.89K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,763 Views
Message 5 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant speed/stability issues!

Hello

First of all your stats all look fine, I would turn off your hub for 30 secs and then back on.

Doing a speedtest across wireless snit the best option, as wireless is prone to interference for many sources, like hands-free phones, microwaves, baby monitors and also you environment etc.

I have some concerns by the shear number of pre RS Errors hence the power off / on.

To help improve the wireless can you login into the router http://192.168.0.1 using the details from the bottom of the hub.

Hub 3.0 2019-04-24 16-24-06.png

And the follow the above screenshot to "Disabled Channel Optimization" as I know that some devices have issue with Smart Wifi changing channels.

The device you are using wireless what is it using i.e. 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz, 2.4Ghz but pretty get around the 50 - 70mbs.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jem101
  • 1.62K
  • 229
  • 755
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,749 Views
Message 6 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant speed/stability issues!

@sweetleaf I'm curious as to what you have left out of the logs because if you mask out any MAC addresses (which the forum software should do automatically) and any IP addresses, there's nothing else in them to identify you. Where there any references to RCS Partial Service messages by any chance?

It does look from the stats as if you may well have lost two of the four upstream channels. If you have already checked that all the connections are tight as per @DJ_Shadow1966  recommendation above, then I think you'll need to call it in and request an engineer visit.

But first, please try to beg, steal or borrow some means of testing it from a wired connector, a USB-C or Thundrrbolt to Ethernet adapter for your MacBook are fairly cheap and always handy to have.

0 Kudos
Reply
sweetleaf
  • 39
  • 0
  • 7
On our wavelength
1,739 Views
Message 7 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant speed/stability issues!

Hey @jem101 and @DJ_Shadow1966,

First of all thank you for the help! To answer you questions/suggestions:

- I have rebooted my router before but will do it again and will change the settings to disable channel optimisation.

- My wireless device is using 5Ghz

- From the network logs I just removed the MAC addresses

I run a few speed test this morning and none of them was below 220Mbps. I am pretty confident the problem is on Virgin's side. It looks like their network can't cope with peak time traffic tbh.

I think at this point a virgin mod should contact me and arrange an engineer visit or something. Are the mods replying to threads or they just rely on the community?

Regards,

Orestis 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.05K
  • 1.07K
  • 2.54K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,728 Views
Message 8 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant speed/stability issues!

Something else in the stats is that the downstream power range looks on the high side, as it ranges from -1.9 to +5.5 dBmV.  Whilst I don't think the power range for the Hub 3 has been publicly stated (along with most other technical stats), I had a cast around the internet and found an older Motorola document for a 16 channel cable modem operating at 256QAM, and that states that power levels must always be within a 3 dBmV range, and absent VM or Arris coming clean on the Hub 3 technical specs that seems a reasonable benchmark.  So combining your 7.4 dBmV power range and your missing upstream channels, it looks certain that the cable setup has problems.

I think that the original poster has possibly got both the wifi configuration issues that DJ_Shadow1966 is trying to resolve, and a cable configuration problem that jem101 is pointing up, so I'd suggest following the suggestions for optimising wifi* and wait for the forum staff to pick this up and arrange a technician visit to sort out the cable connection.

* If it all goes horribly wrong, a pinhole reset will always take you back to the factory settings

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
sweetleaf
  • 39
  • 0
  • 7
On our wavelength
1,516 Views
Message 9 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant speed/stability issues!

Can someone from Virgin FINALLY reply on this thread and try to help me! The broadband is dreadful! I can't watch a movie or do anything during peek time. This is totally unacceptable!

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.33K
  • 2.4K
  • 3.98K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,455 Views
Message 10 of 63
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant speed/stability issues!

Did you reboot the router Hub as suggested - what happened to the stats/logs?
Did you do the "wired" test as suggested - what happened.
Might be good to restart it again (or even a pinhole reset) and repost the stats. Also put the Hub into modem mode and run the speedtest over a Cat6 cable.
If you only want input from VM people then either just call CS or wait until one responds on here - probably by asking you to do exactly what the non-VM experts are asking you to do.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply