Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 54
  • 0
  • 8
thepixel
On our wavelength
213 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Bromley Performance

So we seem to be having rather slow broadband which is resulting in packet-loss, high latency, DNS Timeouts and what not. Which is causing line drops

This used to be an issue for years until a year ago when i guess the area got upgraded........ It got so bad I had a BT Line installed for just myself. Which is still active FYI!
Guess it's over subscribed yet again

I use a SH 3 in Cable Modem Mode, behind my own firewall.
No it's not my firewall

Seeing:
Lost MDD Timeout and RCS Partial Service errors being logged

I pay for atleast 100mb service and I'm lucky to get 40mbps

https://www.speedtest.net/result/8260906416
Run from a home server on standard ethernet and not WIFI

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.71K
  • 424
  • 1.03K
legacy1
Alessandro Volta
185 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley Performance

Can you test your speed with a PC/laptop with 1Gb and cat 6 cable to the hub in modem mode (you can copy your firewall WAN MAC to PC/laptop for easy change over or power off the hub for 2 mins to allow a MAC change).

Can you run CMD
Ping -n 200 194.168.4.100

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.59K
  • 48
  • 798
CarlTSpeak
Wise owl
177 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley Performance

Is that really the answer to a downstream RF problem? 

OP you probably need a technician visit. I imagine your downstream power levels or SNR are outside the proper range at times.

Your modern is losing lock to VM's network, those are the MDD timeouts, and when it reconnects it can't get all the channels it should be locking to: those are the partial RCS issues.

If there is no area fault active you do need an engineer visit to try and remediate. Do check the coaxial cable going into the modem, too, ensure all connections there are finger tight. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 54
  • 0
  • 8
thepixel
On our wavelength
143 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley Performance

Come on mate, I did say it's NOT my firewall in my post.

I can run a constant local ping to the Cable Modems internal IP and not drop a single packet. However external ping to equipment is shocking. I started logging last night. This is a graph from one source point in one DC and the backup source point in another DC also reports the same drops etc

VM.PNG

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1322750000431256 qam24
22107500002.225256 qam0
32187500002.725256 qam11
4226750000327256 qam12
52347500004.333256 qam13
62427500003.930256 qam14
72507500003.731256 qam15
82587500004.332256 qam16
92667500004.131256 qam17
102747500004.531256 qam18
112827500004.530256 qam19
122907500004.630256 qam20
132987500003.428256 qam21
143067500000.929256 qam22
153147500002.931256 qam23



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked31.23167542493
2Locked25.119581911172
3Locked25.75419974269987389
4Locked27171810913149055995
5Locked33.3131504915633
6Locked30.8145955662649
7Locked31.363277292182
8Locked32.97923397128
9Locked31.349119943134
10Locked31.428243380107
11Locked30.49884926797
12Locked30.413707330989
13Locked28.220806579398092887
14Locked29.388013105138644376
15Locked31.61388675711091486

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1274000485.2512016 qam3
2536999745.1512064 qam4
3357999745.1512064 qam2
4457999645.1512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.04K
  • 730
  • 3.17K
Superuser
Superuser
124 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley Performance

Your levels are a mess, your POSTRS is through the roof , your upstream is maxed out and it just generally needs a sound kicking.

@ModTeam  can someone organise a check your side and an engineer if needed?


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.59K
  • 48
  • 798
CarlTSpeak
Wise owl
113 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley Performance

Yup, SNR well outside specifications, you've 15 downstream channels instead of 24, and the upstream is marginal. Definitely need a tech visit if it's just you else network engineers to work on it if it's impacting multiple people.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 663
  • 30
  • 53
Forum Team
Forum Team
69 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley Performance

Hi thepixel,

Thanks for your post. Very sorry to hear you are having trouble with your connection.

I would love to take a look into things further for you, to be able to do this, I do need some more details from you. I'll drop you a PM asking for the details I would need, if you can reply to that message, I will be more than happy to help.

Thanks

Lindsey_C

0 Kudos
Reply