Menu
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 1
andrewbakes2019
On our wavelength
699 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Broadband slower after upgrade to 500mbps

`

was on 350mps upgraded to the VIP package today and now speeds are slower should be getting 500mbps

 

Cable Modem Status

Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
298750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32599976
Locked
Provisioning State
Online


Downstream bonded channels


Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 298750000 7.8 38 256 qam 21
2 138750000 9 40 256 qam 1
3 146750000 9 40 256 qam 2
4 154750000 8.8 40 256 qam 3
5 162750000 9.5 40 256 qam 4
6 170750000 9.5 38 256 qam 5
7 178750000 9.4 40 256 qam 6
8 186750000 9.3 40 256 qam 7
9 194750000 9 40 256 qam 8
10 202750000 8.8 38 256 qam 9
11 210750000 8.5 38 256 qam 10
12 218750000 8.5 38 256 qam 11
13 226750000 8.4 38 256 qam 12
14 234750000 8.3 38 256 qam 13
15 242750000 8.3 38 256 qam 14
16 250750000 8.1 38 256 qam 15
17 258750000 8 38 256 qam 16
18 266750000 8 38 256 qam 17
19 274750000 7.8 38 256 qam 18
20 282750000 7.6 40 256 qam 19
21 290750000 7.9 38 256 qam 20
22 306750000 7.5 38 256 qam 22
23 314750000 7.6 38 256 qam 23
24 322750000 7.9 38 256 qam 24

 

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 6 0
2 Locked 40.3 5 0
3 Locked 40.3 5 0
4 Locked 40.3 0 0
5 Locked 40.3 4 0
6 Locked 38.9 3 0
7 Locked 40.3 4 0
8 Locked 40.3 3 0
9 Locked 40.3 6 0
10 Locked 38.9 5 0
11 Locked 38.6 5 0
12 Locked 38.9 5 0
13 Locked 38.9 5 0
14 Locked 38.6 5 0
15 Locked 38.9 6 0
16 Locked 38.9 4 0
17 Locked 38.6 4 0
18 Locked 38.6 6 0
19 Locked 38.9 5 0
20 Locked 40.3 5 0
21 Locked 38.9 6 0
22 Locked 38.9 5 0
23 Locked 38.9 5 0
24 Locked 38.9 0 0

 


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 32599976 4.275 5120 16 qam 12
2 25799937 4.125 5120 16 qam 13
3 39399996 4.275 5120 16 qam 11
4 46199959 4.275 5120 16 qam 10

 

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0


Refresh data
General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
9873254k;fg87dsfd;kf


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 6183
Max Traffic Rate 575000000
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 5158
Max Traffic Rate 38520000
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0
Max Concatenated Burst 16320
Scheduling Type BestEffort

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 19.28K
  • 1.68K
  • 4.22K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
675 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to 500mbps

the downstream power levels at the top end of the tolerance, would make sure all white (coax) connections are finger tight, a possibility might need a tech visit this can be arranged via the forum staff

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.8K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.56K
griffin
Alessandro Volta
637 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to 500mbps

How are you connecting wired or wirelessly?



  • 12
  • 0
  • 1
andrewbakes2019
On our wavelength
568 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to 500mbps

iv tried both it seems when the poweline adapter is connected i got from vm halfs the speeds taken that out and get 456 up 35 down now
  • 931
  • 43
  • 118
happywithmy350
Well-informed
562 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to 500mbps

You should mark your last comment as helpful as that's the solution. I recall after reading that I used to get the same problem It was down to the wiring more than the adapters but I had to swap them out for a loooooooooooooong piece of Cat6
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.8K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.56K
griffin
Alessandro Volta
544 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to 500mbps


@andrewbakes2019 wrote:
iv tried both it seems when the poweline adapter is connected i got from vm halfs the speeds taken that out and get 456 up 35 down now

Powerline adapters will affect speeds as they are half duplex and are affected by the amount of noise on your electrical mains. so i wouldn't expect much more than 15 to 25% of the powerline's adverted speed.

I have seen some decent powerlines provide actual speeds of over 400Mbps, but the powerlines were tested in the same room which kind of defeats the point.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 931
  • 43
  • 118
happywithmy350
Well-informed
540 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to 500mbps

I've had 350mbps speeds over a pair of 1200Mbps plugs - with one upstairs and one down stairs - until I had a car charger put in and then it all went to pot
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.6K
  • 309
  • 768
Roger_Gooner
Superstar
523 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to 500mbps

I still don't think that things are quite right. Not only are the downstream power levels on the high side, having four upstream 16QAM channels may well make reliable 35Mbps upload speeds difficult.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 947
  • 23
  • 140
shawty1984
Rising star
487 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to 500mbps


@Roger_Gooner wrote:

I still don't think that things are quite right. Not only are the downstream power levels on the high side, having four upstream 16QAM channels may well make reliable 35Mbps upload speeds difficult.


I have four upstreams at 16QAM and always get full 35+Mbps.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 73
  • 3
  • 17
Gary333
Dialled in
474 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to 500mbps


@happywithmy350 wrote:
I've had 350mbps speeds over a pair of 1200Mbps plugs - with one upstairs and one down stairs - until I had a car charger put in and then it all went to pot

Lots of houses have separate rings for left and right side of the house rather than the traditional upstairs / downstairs. This can mean your upstairs sockets if above or on same side could perform much better than other sockets downstairs but on the other side of the house.