Menu
Reply
  • 23
  • 0
  • 2
CursedLemon
Tuning in
533 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Area 20 - Slow Speeds, Bufferbloat & Errors

Hello, since the 9th I have been experiencing a large slowdown of my download speed; from 380Mb down to around 90Mb as well as significant bufferbloat while the upload is relatively unchanged. I checked my Hub settings and found several errors documented - 

11/09/2019 17:44:49criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/09/2019 20:32:18Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/09/2019 15:26:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/09/2019 17:08:47Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/09/2019 10:49:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/09/2019 15:29:33noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/09/2019 14:09:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/09/2019 04:37:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/09/2019 12:49:42Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/09/2019 06:17:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/09/2019 10:24:11Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=*************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500006.640256 qam25
21707500006.340256 qam5
3178750000640256 qam6
41867500005.838256 qam7
51947500005.638256 qam8
62027500005.640256 qam9
72107500005.838256 qam10
82187500005.638256 qam11
92267500005.538256 qam12
10234750000540256 qam13
112427500004.538256 qam14
12250750000538256 qam15
13258750000640256 qam16
142667500006.640256 qam17
152747500006.940256 qam18
162827500006.840256 qam19
172907500006.438256 qam20
182987500006.438256 qam21
193067500006.540256 qam22
20314750000740256 qam23
213227500007.540256 qam24
224107500007.140256 qam26
23418750000740256 qam27
24426750000740256 qam28



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.32719
2Locked40.3548484
3Locked40.3450452
4Locked38.9456547
5Locked38.9583903
6Locked40.3458993
7Locked38.610441107
8Locked38.67673592
9Locked38.91234353555
10Locked40.35251772
11Locked38.64311424
12Locked38.936649
13Locked40.31950
14Locked40.320829
15Locked40.3361110
16Locked40.3421454
17Locked38.94432189
18Locked38.9409588
19Locked40.3356255
20Locked40.3337198
21Locked40.3311163
22Locked40.31160
23Locked40.3540
24Locked40.3520

 

Can anyone shed light on the errors or is it an issue with Virgin in the area? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Cortina
Joining in
496 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 20 - Slow Speeds, Bufferbloat & Errors

C51D8CC2-A9DD-4AE1-9A11-84CFCBEFBB7C.png

 

C9B4CCCA-13EA-4B91-93EC-8B9C277EF446.png

 

8799A641-F22B-4798-868B-09D1A3802571.png

Yep, same here only generally worse. Status pages are all over the place (mostly denying any issue) but an agent finally told me there’s an ongoing issue that has a fix ETA of a weeks time.. 🤬

  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Cyirak
On our wavelength
431 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 20 - Slow Speeds, Bufferbloat & Errors

So interestingly i have the similar issue. as posted here;

 

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Less-than-1-4-speed-at-peek-times-for-around-2-weeks-area...

 

It would be interesting to know the first part of your postcode...

 

I've got a engineer coming out today so will be interesting to see if they find anything. I'll let you know what they find.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 23
  • 0
  • 2
CursedLemon
Tuning in
403 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 20 - Slow Speeds, Bufferbloat & Errors

I'm in Beckenham BR3, speeds are still very slow and not just at peak times - at all times of the day. I've been told the same thing Cortina has, that their is a Virgin issue in the area and it will be fixed 'in the next week'. I will be expecting at least a partial refund for the month if this is not fixed by October 1st.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
random_person
Tuning in
386 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 20 - Slow Speeds, Bufferbloat & Errors

Area 20 RH2 and seeing issues too. Since mid afternoon on the 21st (of September) really slow speeds (10mbps rather than 150mbps). This is tested via a direct ethernet connection.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 2
CursedLemon
Tuning in
294 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 20 - Slow Speeds, Bufferbloat & Errors

Anyone still experiencing slowdown? I've just been told on the chat that the issue in the area was fixed a week ago yet I'm still in the same situation, 80-90Mb download instead of 380Mb with normal upload. Factory reset the hub again and still the same with the only abnormal sign being the constant line errors showing in the log. Virgin are so poorly set up to deal with issues like these that it quickly becomes heavily frustrating. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.56K
  • 1K
  • 1.51K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
257 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 20 - Slow Speeds, Bufferbloat & Errors

VM "Areas" are not geographic - they are legacy billing areas (don't ask !!) - you are in Beckenham which I believe is in the smoke - I am in Area 20 and in south Manchester ! So You are probably experiencing a more local (or personal) fault not affecting 1000's of users.
Try calling the Service Status number 0800 561 0061 which usually tells you of local issues, down to postcode level (that might even not yet be listed on the Service Status web page) that may give you more info. If nothing shows there call it in again and see what they say when they test your connection (and if possible get a fault reference number).

However a download of ~90mbps is suspicious - as it is what you would expect of a device with a 10/100 NIC card - or one limited to that by the driver. So what device are you using exactly and what network card does it have. Are you using Cat5e/6 cable to connect - if not - do so - if you are - try a new Cat6 cable. If you are using wifi only - is the device actually capable of the higher speeds and on the 5GHz band (if you have them separate)?
For example, my Macbook Air and iPhone7 both get 220mbps on my Vivid200 wifi connection (and on Cat6 cable) - but only when I put them onto the 5GHz network. Sat in the same spot if I then flick them over to the 2.4GHz network, they always max out at 70-80mbps - it's just the limitations of the technology!


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 23
  • 0
  • 2
CursedLemon
Tuning in
242 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 20 - Slow Speeds, Bufferbloat & Errors

Thanks for the reply, I didn't know that about the areas. I have the same setup I've had for the past 15 months, only ethernet cat 6, modem mode with an R7000 and in the past 3 weeks I've troubleshooted with >5 factory resets of the Hub 3, countless reboots, hub only mode, switching the cables, testing over wifi, changing any settings I can on the hub page and so on. Basically any variable has been swapped out and the result never changes from 80-90Mb download. I was receiving 380Mb on this exact setup for over a year up until a few weeks ago when nothing changed, I just woke up one day, it was slow and I gave it a week hoping it would sort it self out. This combined with the new errors on the network settings page leads me to believe there's an issue on my line or in the area but Virgin claim otherwise. 

Unsure what to do right now as the thought of continuing a dialogue with the 'technical support' chat guys make me want to switch ISP's. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.56K
  • 1K
  • 1.51K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
231 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 20 - Slow Speeds, Bufferbloat & Errors

Things can change some pc's (Dells) can auto activate QoS software (Smartbytes) that limit speeds, Windoze10 updates have been problematic, some browsers can be a problem, antivirus/malware packages can do this - some examples here.

Antivirus

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/362mbps-package-doesn-t-get-past-high-100-s-limited/td-p/...

Dell speed problem

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Download-speeds/td-p/3894056

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/slow-speeds-in-area-20/m-p/4044245#M212401

Browsers speed problem

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Slow-broadband/td-p/3960227

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Etherent-speed-slow/m-p/3912102#M202773

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Speed-Check-Only-get-maximum-80-instead-of-100/td-p/39522...

LAN App problems

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Slow-speed/td-p/3896582
https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=292364.0

Windows & v10 1903

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Dropped-connections-even-after-Hub-replaced...

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Achieve-Full-Speed-In-Safe-Mode-Only/td-p/3...

Network Card driver set to 10/100

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/slow-speeds/td-p/4026917/page/2

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Vivid-350-just-installed-but-relatively-low-speed-connect...

So to rule that lot out you need to do this - I know you may have done a lot of this already but...

Make sure your device has a gigabit network card (not a 10/100 one or “limited to that) and has the up to date drivers. Use a new Cat6 ethernet cable (old ones do "fail" and Cat6 is best) to connect it directly to the Hub - which you have put into modem mode (to ensure only your device is connected). Check speeds like that first.
If they are still low - then, boot up your device into "safe mode with networking" (to disable any software on it that could be limiting speeds). Run the tests at speedtest.net (try on x2 VM servers) on 2 different browsers one of which is a fresh download of one you haven’t previously used (e.g. Firefox, Opera, Safari etc.

Try that and report back what you get.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply