Menu
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Datus
Tuning in
1,764 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

500Mbps Package Speeds

Hi!  I upgraded to the 500Mbps service yesterday but Ifind that I can't hit that speed.  I managed 478Mbps at 5am this morning, but in general I get less than 350Mbps. 

There are no recent errors in the network log and the data below has been generated after approximately 24 hours of up-time.  The router is in modem mode and I'm connected via ethernet cable.

Thanks!

Item

Status

Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)

299000000

Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)

39400024

Locked

Provisioning State

Online

 

 

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

299000000

0.4

38

256 qam

21

2

139000000

2

40

256 qam

1

3

147000000

1.9

40

256 qam

2

4

155000000

1.5

40

256 qam

3

5

163000000

1.5

40

256 qam

4

6

171000000

1.4

40

256 qam

5

7

179000000

1.2

40

256 qam

6

8

187000000

1.2

40

256 qam

7

9

195000000

1.2

40

256 qam

8

10

203000000

0.9

40

256 qam

9

11

211000000

0.5

40

256 qam

10

12

219000000

0.4

40

256 qam

11

13

227000000

0

40

256 qam

12

14

235000000

-0.7

38

256 qam

13

15

243000000

-1.4

40

256 qam

14

16

251000000

-1

40

256 qam

15

17

259000000

-0.7

38

256 qam

16

18

267000000

-0.5

38

256 qam

17

19

275000000

0

38

256 qam

18

20

283000000

0.2

40

256 qam

19

21

291000000

0.2

40

256 qam

20

22

307000000

0.2

40

256 qam

22

23

315000000

0.2

38

256 qam

23

24

323000000

0.2

38

256 qam

24


Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Locked Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

1

Locked

38.9

291

0

2

Locked

40.9

14

0

3

Locked

40.9

38

0

4

Locked

40.3

45

0

5

Locked

40.9

56

0

6

Locked

40.3

44

0

7

Locked

40.3

55

0

8

Locked

40.9

33

0

9

Locked

40.3

30

0

10

Locked

40.3

24

0

11

Locked

40.3

29

0

12

Locked

40.3

65

0

13

Locked

40.9

81

0

14

Locked

38.9

156

0

15

Locked

40.3

180

0

16

Locked

40.3

195

0

17

Locked

38.9

242

0

18

Locked

38.9

271

0

19

Locked

38.9

267

0

20

Locked

40.3

284

0

21

Locked

40.3

301

0

22

Locked

40.3

308

0

23

Locked

38.9

316

0

24

Locked

38.9

325

0

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

39400024

4.775

5120

16 qam

6

2

25800026

4.575

5120

16 qam

8

3

32600014

4.625

5120

16 qam

7

4

46200014

4.775

5120

16 qam

5

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

4

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID

8272

Max Traffic Rate

575000000

Max Traffic Burst

42600

Min Traffic Rate

0

 

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID

8271

Max Traffic Rate

38520000

Max Traffic Burst

42600

Min Traffic Rate

0

Max Concatenated Burst

16320

Scheduling Type

BestEffort

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 33
  • 1
  • 4
coldfusion0
On our wavelength
1,741 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 500Mbps Package Speeds

go to connected devices and check ethernet speed

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.45K
  • 471
  • 1.11K
legacy1
Alessandro Volta
1,726 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 500Mbps Package Speeds

Speed when everyone else in your area is downloading can limit your speed so don't expect 500Mb all the time.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Datus
Tuning in
1,720 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500Mbps Package Speeds

Thanks for your replies.  After the comment regarding connection speed I took a look at my Draytek router to see what speed it was using to connect to the modem.  It has made the expected gigabit connection but I then noticed that traffic flow monitoring was enabled in the router.  After disabling this I now see a fairly consistent 545Mbps download rate, so that appears to be the problem!

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21
  • 0
  • 3
brenster100
Tuning in
1,541 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500Mbps Package Speeds

But that makes no real sense as its Fiber up till the end run usually to the cabinet (or at least mine got fiber they never lock the thing -_-) each fiber pair can do many 100s of Gbps send and receive so it should never run out of bandwidth
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 544
  • 44
  • 170
DreamOfCheese
Rising star
1,539 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500Mbps Package Speeds

It depends on your network to where it's fibre up to, in Project Lightning areas it's fibre all the way to the home, as far as I know for the other areas it's fibre to the closest fibre distribution node, then coax to the distribution/amplifier cabinets and then coax to the home.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.45K
  • 300
  • 745
Roger_Gooner
Community elder
1,445 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500Mbps Package Speeds

There is still fact that the upstream channels are 16QAM instead of 64QAM. What is your upload speeds?

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.45K
  • 300
  • 745
Roger_Gooner
Community elder
1,436 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500Mbps Package Speeds


@DreamOfCheese wrote:
It depends on your network to where it's fibre up to, in Project Lightning areas it's fibre all the way to the home, as far as I know for the other areas it's fibre to the closest fibre distribution node, then coax to the distribution/amplifier cabinets and then coax to the home.

In 2018 60% of the 481,000 premises passed by project lightning installations were FTTP, the rest HFC.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Datus
Tuning in
1,407 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500Mbps Package Speeds

The upload speed is around 37Mbps, so no problem there. I do wonder why the channels are 16 rather than 64. This is a less than 1 year since install HFC connection. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
botak
Joining in
1,331 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500Mbps Package Speeds

Engineer turned up yesterday & hooked me up to the new VVIP (Vivid500) package (Nottingham)

Was hitting 380Mbps consistently on Vivid350

Only managing max speeds of 440-450Mbps (Hub3 connected to Netgear ORBI via gigabit ethernet with traffic management disabled) downstream

😞

 

0 Kudos
Reply