Menu
Reply
  • 9.03K
  • 928
  • 1.41K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
736 Views
Message 11 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb speed but only getting 70mb

Look in the Hub config settings - in the max download rate it will show what that is - and you can deduce which package you are on.  Also if you are on Vivid200 your upload speeds should be around 12mbps (same as mine)  If still on the 70 it will be less than 6mbps.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 27
  • 0
  • 1
tyger79
Tuning in
735 Views
Message 12 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb speed but only getting 70mb

ok i think i am on the vivid 200mb but only getting 70mb download speed because im getting 12 mb upload speeds

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
strawb
On our wavelength
734 Views
Message 13 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb speed but only getting 70mb

I know how u feel.  Totally sympathise with you.......  

I started with vivid 50 Mbps broadband package five years ago and been gifted over time upto 150 Mbps package.  Then I requested the hub 3.0 and was convinced to sign another 12 month contract for the Vivid 200 Mbps broadband (only) package at a discount £5 per month for 12 months to get the latest, fastest etc -  hub 3.0.  Over time the price has been increased and the speeds have never been any faster than when I begun on the 50 Mbps.

The only difference to me is price increase (dramatically) not increased speeds.  I am lucky to hit 50 Mbps WiFi, I am informed that those speeds advertised up to are Ethernet cable speeds, not WiFi, which is stated in ultra small text.  I have been conned basically.  

I started off paying £18 per month for the first 3 months, then £24 per month.  Now I pay £43.24 and no doubt will pay more in the very near future, for nothing better than what I was starting with.

Yeah fantastic there is an offer for a better package of 350 Mbps available to me...... Sure!!!!  Not so naive now, gotta be speeds available of equal to I am getting for far, far less cost.

New Years Resolution, bye bye Virgin Media xxxx

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 27
  • 0
  • 1
tyger79
Tuning in
730 Views
Message 14 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb speed but only getting 70mb

yeah i started started off with 10mb then vm kept offering the free upgrades from 50mb to 70mb then to 100mb then to 200mb .

free upgrade bullfrog the prices kept going up everyyear.

i am now paying £38.24 for vivid 200mb but only getting 70mb speeds max.

Is it even worth downgrading tio vivid 100mb because vivid 100mb i believe to be £40 a month and right now i am only paying £38.24 a month .

i upgraded to vivid 200mb on Jan 2018 so my contract runs out in jan 2019

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
strawb
On our wavelength
728 Views
Message 15 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb speed but only getting 70mb

Could you look at the information for my hub 3.0 like you suggested to the previous user's post please:   Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12990000004.537256 qam21
23230000004.836256 qam24
33150000004.537256 qam23
43070000004.437256 qam22
5291000000437256 qam20
6283000000437256 qam19
72750000003.737256 qam18
82670000004.137256 qam17
92590000003.737256 qam16
102510000003.537256 qam15
112430000003.237256 qam14
122350000003.237256 qam13
13227000000337256 qam12
14219000000337256 qam11
15211000000337256 qam10
162030000002.937256 qam9
171950000003.537256 qam8
181870000002.537256 qam7
19179000000338256 qam6
201710000002.937256 qam5
211630000002.538256 qam4
221550000002.738256 qam3
231470000002.537256 qam2
241390000002.537256 qam1


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked37.384032076
2Locked36.688451037
3Locked37.38548917
4Locked37.38246992
5Locked37.385001609
6Locked37.685941539
7Locked37.383412097
8Locked37.382971980
9Locked37.685202070
10Locked37.684542764
11Locked37.384274327
12Locked37.384903940
13Locked37.383904809
14Locked37.384965729
15Locked37.683615535
16Locked37.682236170
17Locked37.682915995
18Locked37.688967578
19Locked38.986967488
20Locked37.690899356
21Locked38.6241559588
22Locked38.61872210925
23Locked37.610720010333
24Locked37.649105317003



Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
12580000047.8512064 qam28
23260000047.8512064 qam27
33940000047.5512064 qam26
44620000046.8512064 qam25


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0020
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
strawb
On our wavelength
726 Views
Message 16 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb speed but only getting 70mb

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
V0dea97109ea7aa00.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID44
Max Traffic Rate230000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID43
Max Traffic Rate12700000
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 Network Log
Time Priority Description
2018-11-20 14:38:28.00 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-20 14:45:13.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-20 14:49:35.00 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-23 00:53:53.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-23 00:53:53.00 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-23 00:53:53.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-23 13:43:22.00 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-23 13:43:25.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-23 13:43:25.00 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-23 13:43:25.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-23 13:43:25.00 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-23 13:45:34.00 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-23 13:52:40.00 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-24 05:27:58.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-24 11:11:56.00 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-24 14:57:23.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-25 02:05:43.00 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-25 03:49:54.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-25 11:01:12.00 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-11-25 17:15:02.00 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
strawb
On our wavelength
718 Views
Message 17 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb speed but only getting 70mb

Hi tyger79,

It is ridiculous, can't believe I signed up a contract again just to get a hub 3.0 router believing it to be faster. Then paying more money for the 200 Mbps. Two weeks later, maybe not that long I received an email which said Good news! We are sending all existing customers the latest Hub 3.0 for absolutely no extra charge and without having to sign up to a contract. I was absolutely fuming I had spoke to a virgin representative over the phone to negotiate getting the latest hub 3.0, which as a loyal customer after 5 years I believe I should be sent automatically anyway.

It stinks.

Wonder why you are paying or vivid 200 Mbps £38.21 & I am paying £43.24......????

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.03K
  • 928
  • 1.41K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
712 Views
Message 18 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb speed but only getting 70mb

Sorry strawb - as you joined this thread half way through I am not sure what your connection problems are?  If you are on Vivid200 why would you believe that a Hub3 is any "better"? the SH2 (which I have) will connect perfectly well with speeds around 220mbps (as mine does) the Hub3 can't be any "faster".  If you are referring to wifi speeds however, then that's a completely different ball game.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
strawb
On our wavelength
709 Views
Message 19 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb speed but only getting 70mb

i was told to get the hub 3.0 i had to sign up for the 200 Mbps package. I didn't ask for the package I just wanted the new fastest super reliable blah blah blah router.

I have done speed checks and read the help pages hundreds of times
i have copied and pasted the information stated in the above post as suggested.

I want to know why I am no better off for speeds when i am paying a ridiculous price for a package i obviously didn't need.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.03K
  • 928
  • 1.41K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
706 Views
Message 20 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb speed but only getting 70mb

You didn't need the Hub3 for the 200 service - they may have said they wanted you to have one - but you could have said no - there are reasons why you might do so.  Re. your "speeds" its not really being "conned" as no BB supplier guarantees speeds over wifi for obvious reasons - they only do that for ethernet cabled devices.  What do you get if you stick a gigabit enabled device on a Cat6a cable?  If that's significantly < 200mbps then there may be a Hub/network problem - or you device(s) may only have a 10/100 network card or the cable may need replacing or the device (if a pc/laptop) may be running traffic management software in the background - or the antivirus package may be reducing speeds - lots of things to rule out first.  Wifi speeds are a different kettle of fishes.


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply