cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to change 5GHz wireless security settings.

Hooky38
Tuning in

Hi,

I am a newbie and this is my first post.

Windows 10 OS says my wireless security system is to weak, and it is suggested I change it to WPA2. I can do this for 2.4GHz but 5GHz is greyed out and will not respond. I got the suggestion on a blog that if I change the SSID name, and password, then it should work. As I don't understand the principles behind this, I am nervous about changing the default factory settings. Can anybody advise? There is a post from Bev (Community Manager) on this, but the option to Reply was inoperative.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Graham_A
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

@Hooky38 

The default settings for the Hub are for it to have the same SSID for both wireless frequencies.

So when you change the security settings for 2.4GHz the settings automatically replicate to the 5GHz frequency.  This is why the options are greyed out.

It reduces the number of changes you need to make.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media, I'm a VM customer. There are no guarantees that my advice will work. Please read the FAQs
Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

6 REPLIES 6

newapollo
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Hi Hooky38,

Have you tried rebooting the hub?

Dave
I don't work for Virgin Media.
I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge.
Problem solved? Click to mark as a Helpful Answer, or use Kudos to say thanks
The do's and don'ts.
Keep the community welcoming for all. Please read the FAQ's
The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali