cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scam

Rich12
Dialled in

hi, just had phone call apparently off vm saying my internet is being used abroad, mmm ok, so i asked him what do i do to rectify the problem, he asked if anybody else has our p/w for the internet, no i replied he then started his lies but i stopped him there and told him one of my white lies, well i am a vm engineer and this is were you put the phone down, and he did.

Phone number he called off is [MOD EDIT: PERSONAL INFORMATION REMOVED]

I knew was a scam, 1st did not know my name, 2nd, no security check, and i don't think vm would call you and jump straight in to why they called you, without the above done 1st.

Hope this helps anybody out who may get one of these scam calls, please remember if you have any doubts put the phone and don't pass on any kind of personal details.

Thankyou.

Rich

[MOD EDIT: Personal and private information has been removed from this post. Please do not post personal or private information in your public posts. Please review the Forum Guidelines]

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

ALF28
Super solver

Scam cold calls to VM landline.

Thanks for the scam warning, it is good advice not to give out any data to an unknown cold caller.

I also have had many of these scam calls with no security checks, they are just random calls by scammers.

Usually, the displayed caller number will not be a genuine number and not traceable, usually unknown phone numbers. (VoIP generated)

Alos these calls may be from outside of the UK with foreign accents being a giveaway, but as VM do use call centres outside of the UK, so this can be a genuine on some occasions, but VM use specific phone numbers.

The caller number can be checked on the web site who called me.

alf28

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

7 REPLIES 7

Lee_R
Forum Team
Forum Team

Hi @Rich12, thanks for posting and welcome back to our community.