cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNMP Alert

SadieB
Joining in

I keep getting these SNMP Alert emails. We added some security cameras last year and I think that's the issue because these messages started almost immediately after that. It doesn't happen everytime but often, when we access the camera feed via our TV, I get one of these emails from Virgin.

I'm not technically minded and cannot understand a word of what I have to do on the Virgin media website. It's all a foreign language to me. I don't know what an IP address is, where I can find the hub, what a port is, etc. One bit of advice was to download some additional security software but how do I do that when it's nothing to do with my computer. The camera feed comes through a box which is connected to my TV. How will downloading software on my computer, solve that?

No-one I've spoke to at Virgin knows what I'm talking about, I don't understand the advice given already in the community pages on here and I just need some straight forward instructions (in idiot-English) to explain how to fix the problem. 

10 REPLIES 10

Tudor
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Not being able to see what is in the email from VM I cannot really help. Perhaps you have got one of the cheap camera systems that is always calling home to China.

Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2

Paulina_Z
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)

Hi @SadieB,

Welcome to our Community Forums! Thank you for your first post and I'm very sorry to hear that you're having some issues with seeing these alerts!

Can you tell us if you're getting notifications of these errors, or if you're getting emails?

Have you tried to disconnect the cameras to see if the error messages continue? 

Please try rebooting your Hub to see if this can help clear the issue.