cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Public IP has been used in russia now my services dont work

tonycollins58
Just joined

Shocking display by virgin media tech support absolutely useless.

Last night my netflix and youtube services were different and not displaying what i normally watch. as a senior IT professional myself who works with large ISP's and MSP's i traced my IP and saw that it had been used in Moscow, RUssia4AF6FD57-56DD-439D-AC74-EEE84B005D47.jpg

i reset my router and AP, changes the passwords and SSID's etc, done a full on reset on everything, signed out all devices on netflix and youtube etc.

Clearly someone has used my public IP, i have no software VPN or proxy running AT ALL.

Netflix dont care and keep saying turn off your VPN and contact your ISP and Virgin take about 4 years to ask the same questions to say you cannot change your public IP. 

This is a security issue and im now paying for a limited service. Just to top it off i asked to get put through to complaints after 2 hours on a call to be cut off.

Please advise and also sort out my compromised IP! if you can do it for business customers please do it for me, its not out of choice its limiting my services.

4 REPLIES 4

jem101
Superstar

Nope, not sure how someone can ‘use your public IP’, that’s just not the way it works!

GeoLocation services can be notoriously unreliable (apparently I am currently in Fremont, California (I wish)), I have just checked your IP address against a couple of other services and they all seem to claim that you are just south of Reading - yes I know you masked out the IP address in the posted picture, but neglected the rDNS field which is clearly visible.