Menu
Reply
HughJarsse
  • 1.28K
  • 45
  • 627
Knows their stuff
539 Views
Message 1 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Wi-fi problems with hub2 (VMDG490)

Ok, started about 10 days ago, keep losing both 2.4 and 5 gig wi-fi on superhub 2 intermittently.

Sometimes comes back after a while sometimes around 20 mins or so, other times, need to do a soft reset to get it back, and all is OK for a while, then it goes again.  (hub is on a shelf, up out of the way, nothing within a foot or so each way, so not overheating) 

Know these are old hubs now, (been trying to get an upgrade to hub 3, but VM want me to upgrade package to get one!!) Loathe to resort to a complete 'pinhole' reset, and all the resetting hassle it causes, setting up the password, and SSID's etc, and, not even sure this would solve the problem, (personally think hub is on it's way out!!)

Anyone any ideas? or am I stuck with the hub 2 until it fails completely, or I upgrade package to get one 'free'  

0 Kudos
Reply
goslow
  • 2.98K
  • 432
  • 1.11K
Trouble shooter
520 Views
Message 2 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wi-fi problems with hub2 (VMDG490)

I think you have a faulty hub.

I have had this on my 2ac hub but affecting 5GHz only. My symptoms were that the 5GHz signal comes and goes (including the display light on the front of the hub turning on/off). Other symptoms have included the 5GHz seemingly still broadcasting but only being randomly visible/detected by my laptop even when right next to the hub. Connection also drops randomly on 5GHz.

Fortunately my 2.4GHz is fine and I use that with 5GHz turned off. I have always assumed it has just been a deterioration in the hub due to its age. No amount of resetting my hub ever fixed the disappearing 5GHz problem, if that helps your case any to get a replacement!

0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 2.77K
  • 96
  • 259
Forum Team
Forum Team
426 Views
Message 3 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wi-fi problems with hub2 (VMDG490)

Hi @HughJarsse,

 

Welcome to our Community Forums and thanks for posting. 

 

I am sorry to hear you are having some issues with your service. 

 

I have taken a look at your account and have been unable to identify any cause for concern. I do note however there is an uptime of 23 days on your hub. Are you able to reboot this now which should allow the connection to refresh?

 

I would also advise setting up a BQM and leave it running for 24-48 hours. You can then post the live link here so we can monitor the drop outs.

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
HughJarsse
  • 1.28K
  • 45
  • 627
Knows their stuff
402 Views
Message 4 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wi-fi problems with hub2 (VMDG490)

Hi Ayisha_B

Have reset the hub this morning (sorry for delay in replying, been away over the weekend) .

Notice in the logs that there are a large number of  T4's and other lost MDD's before I reset the hub at around 8AM this morning? (Log posted below)

will see how things go over the next couple of days wi-fi wise, before seeing if a BQM is needed.

 

Regards,

 

01/06/2021 08:41:39 GMT01/06/2021 08:41:39 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
01/06/2021 07:03:36 GMT01/06/2021 07:03:36 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP - 86.15.174.15
01/06/2021 07:02:47 GMT01/06/2021 07:02:47 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
01/06/2021 07:02:37 GMT01/06/2021 07:02:37 GMTNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
01/06/2021 07:02:31 GMT01/06/2021 07:02:31 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 07:02:29 GMT01/06/2021 07:02:29 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
01/06/2021 07:02:28 GMT01/06/2021 07:02:28 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
01/06/2021 07:02:28 GMT01/06/2021 07:02:28 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
01/06/2021 07:02:26 GMT01/06/2021 07:02:26 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
01/06/2021 07:02:10 GMT01/06/2021 07:02:10 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 07:01:44 GMT01/06/2021 07:01:44 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 07:01:34 GMT01/06/2021 07:01:34 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 07:00:52 GMT01/06/2021 07:00:52 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 07:00:46 GMT01/06/2021 07:00:46 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 07:00:25 GMT01/06/2021 07:00:25 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 06:59:43 GMT01/06/2021 06:59:43 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 06:59:27 GMT01/06/2021 06:59:27 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 06:59:27 GMT01/06/2021 06:59:27 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 06:59:27 GMT01/06/2021 06:59:27 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/06/2021 06:59:26 GMT01/06/2021 06:59:26 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 6.12K
  • 315
  • 544
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
380 Views
Message 5 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wi-fi problems with hub2 (VMDG490)

Thank you for coming back to us @HughJarsse 

 

Did you manage to get a BQM set up?  If so could you provide the link here? 

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply
HughJarsse
  • 1.28K
  • 45
  • 627
Knows their stuff
380 Views
Message 6 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wi-fi problems with hub2 (VMDG490)

Ok, hub reset at 8am this morning, and, seemed to be OK, went out at 08:15, left pc running.

now notice that the network log now shows the following, almost 3/4  hour AFTER the reset??

More T4's and lost MDD's?

Not too sure what's happening here??

Network Log
First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
02/06/2021 08:59:47 GMT02/06/2021 08:59:47 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP - 86.15.174.15
02/06/2021 08:58:45 GMT02/06/2021 08:58:45 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
02/06/2021 08:54:16 GMT02/06/2021 08:54:16 GMTError (4)68000409TOD not Established
02/06/2021 08:53:31 GMT02/06/2021 08:53:31 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
02/06/2021 08:53:06 GMT02/06/2021 08:53:06 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
02/06/2021 08:52:39 GMT02/06/2021 08:52:39 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
02/06/2021 08:52:08 GMT02/06/2021 08:52:08 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
02/06/2021 08:49:59 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:59 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
02/06/2021 08:49:59 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:59 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
02/06/2021 08:49:59 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:59 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
02/06/2021 08:49:59 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:59 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
02/06/2021 08:49:58 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:58 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
02/06/2021 08:49:58 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:58 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
02/06/2021 08:49:54 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:54 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
02/06/2021 08:49:54 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:54 GMTCritical (3)84000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync
02/06/2021 08:49:53 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:53 GMTCritical (3)84000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync
02/06/2021 08:49:46 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:46 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
02/06/2021 08:49:38 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:38 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
02/06/2021 08:49:13 GMT02/06/2021 08:49:13 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
 
0 Kudos
Reply
HughJarsse
  • 1.28K
  • 45
  • 627
Knows their stuff
378 Views
Message 7 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wi-fi problems with hub2 (VMDG490)

Hi Zac_M,not set up the BQM at the moment, as said, waiting to see if there are problems after this mornings reset. (have also posted new logs a few moments ago) but think that setting up a BQM might be the way to go.

Looks like I need to set up an account with 'thinkbroadband' to do this apparently, looking at the link Ayisha_B sent?

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 6.12K
  • 315
  • 544
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
368 Views
Message 8 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wi-fi problems with hub2 (VMDG490)

Thank you for coming back to me. 

 

Yes you would need to set up an account with think broadband. 

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 28.94K
  • 2.89K
  • 5.45K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
360 Views
Message 9 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wi-fi problems with hub2 (VMDG490)

Account is a misnomer - you are merely registering with TB - no monies or CC details are needed/stored. Set one up asap.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.51K
  • 1.53K
  • 4.53K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
347 Views
Message 10 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wi-fi problems with hub2 (VMDG490)

@HughJarsse shouldn't need ton setup a BQM to get this resolved - the network log is a stinker, and staff should know that.  Multiple T4 timeouts in the absence of T2/T3 errors are often a sign of downstream noise or connectivity issues, the MDD timeouts of themselves aren't important, but to have so many reinforces the more serious timeout errors, and there's also a sprinkling of channel loss (partial service) errors.  On a hub that;s working properly on a noise free connection there shouldn't be any of that - just a very few and infrequent T3 timeouts, maybe one or two MDD timeouts.

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Hub-status-data-understanding-network-log-messages/m-p/47...

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply