Menu
Reply
  • 331
  • 1
  • 7
Kam67
Dialled in
792 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Upstream Power levels Extremely low

Hi

i have two broadband fibre  services in SW10 area of London and both are showing unbelievably low upstream power levels, the downstream seems fine:

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1393999033.85512016 qam12
2326000193.6512016 qam13
3461999813.725512016 qam11
4537000833.85512016 qam10


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1393999033.85512016 qam12
2326000193.6512016 qam13
3461999813.725512016 qam11
4537000833.85512016 qam10
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6.04K
  • 464
  • 1.01K
Tudor
Hero
788 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Power levels Extremely low

Your system would not work with those low power levels. I think you have had your Hub3 updated with the latest firmware release and I believe it’s a coding error the decimal place should be one further to the right, so your first power level would read 38.50.


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 331
  • 1
  • 7
Kam67
Dialled in
780 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Power levels Extremely low

Thanks for the prompt response!

I just checked and the Virgin Service Status page for my area shows that there is a problem. But as you say I have done some googling and nowhere can I find anyone posting with such low upstream power levels. A little confused....

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.64K
  • 886
  • 1.34K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
778 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Power levels Extremely low

Have a look on the "Networking" & "Speed" forums there are lots of posts from folks with the same "number" issue on a Hub3 after the update.

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 331
  • 1
  • 7
Kam67
Dialled in
769 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Power levels Extremely low

Thanks a lot for the heads up! Will have a look...

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.67K
  • 306
  • 1.07K
Dave_cq
Community elder
761 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Power levels Extremely low

It beggars belief that VM still put out firmware updates without thoroughly testing them ... they must be in competition with Microsoft for the Duffers Of The Year award   Smiley Sad

 

 

********* SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - Vivid 100Mbps **********

Electron
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 331
  • 1
  • 7
Kam67
Dialled in
754 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Power levels Extremely low

Agree!

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.64K
  • 886
  • 1.34K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
750 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Power levels Extremely low


@Dave_cq wrote:

It beggars belief that VM still put out firmware updates without thoroughly testing them ... they must be in competition with Microsoft for the Duffers Of The Year award   :smileysad


Poor coding and troubleshooting, they need to know the difference between "responsible" and "accountable" for achieving tasks successfully - unfortunately no-one ever seems accountable.

As wezza used to say....   "pay peanuts, get monkeys"  Smiley Happy


--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6.04K
  • 464
  • 1.01K
Tudor
Hero
729 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Power levels Extremely low

VM firmware updates do not fix anything, they just introduce more problems! This new problem just shows how slapdash VM’s checking procedures must be, do they ever do any proper alpha and beta testing. Perhaps it’s just like the original introduction of the Hub3 where errors and problems identified by the beta testers were totally ignored and the firmware just released. 


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2