Menu
Reply
  • 126
  • 1
  • 13
Milambar
Dialled in
780 Views
Message 1 of 49
Flag for a moderator

Unacceptable Lag and Latency, starts every night

Every night, every SINGLE night, my connection gets lagged to heck, with webpages failing to load, disconnecting from various chat media..

This always starts some time between 11:45pm and 00:15am, and lasts until I am forced to reboot  my superhub.

It affects EVERY SINGLE networked device in the house. Thats 2 laptops, 2 phones, 1 tablet, and 2 desktop PC's. So its not a problem with the PC, or that would only affect a single device, not all devices. The fact that rebooting my superhub also clears it, tells me its a fault with your network or your superhub,

I suspect that I am being some-kind-of throttled, rather than it being a fault, I am a low priority client, only on 100mbit, with phoneline and Tivo, hardly a big spender, I realise this. However I should not have to live with being treated in a sub-standard way.

These problems started immediately after you completed a "routine maintenance" window 1 or 2 months ago, during which I was obviously moved to a different line-card (massive change in public IP), probably a line-card with a low priority QoS.

These lags are unacceptable, totally so, and I want them rectified.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.82K
  • 142
  • 419
jpeg1
Trouble shooter
727 Views
Message 2 of 49
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unacceptable Lag and Latency, starts every night

Virgin Media do NOT throttle broadband connections. 

If the problem is resolved by rebooting the Hub, it is more likely to be an internal problem than a network issue. But you can test this by setting up a BQM test at thinkbroadband.com which will monitor your connection continuously. Let this run for a couple of days and post the results here. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 126
  • 1
  • 13
Milambar
Dialled in
716 Views
Message 3 of 49
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unacceptable Lag and Latency, starts every night


@jpeg1 wrote:

Virgin Media do NOT throttle broadband connections.  


Yes they do, they just don't admit to it.


@jpeg1 wrote:

it is more likely to be an internal problem than a network issue


I'm sorry but my LAN works fine, I can still toss files around my LAN at 1Gbit thanks to a WRT1200AC router running OpenWRT. As each room has double Cat7 drops connecting to an actual network cabinet, with a 24 port network switch, WiFi is enabled on my LAN only for the cellphones and tablets. The laptops and desktops are hardwired.

My LAN never suffers any problem. Only my connection to the WAN, which is mysteriously cleared by rebooting the hub,

Cat 7 cabling is backwards compatible with Cat6 and Cat5E devices. I mention this because someone will try and blame the cabling. I installed Cat7 for futureproofing. When installing a data cabinet, and drops in each room, you don't want to have to rip it all out a year or two down the line.


@jpeg1 wrote:

by setting up a BQM test at thinkbroadband.com which will monitor your connection continuously. Let this run for a couple of days and post the results here.

This I have done. I already had one running, but for some reason it seems to have gotten deactivated about a year ago. But I just configured a new one.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.82K
  • 142
  • 419
jpeg1
Trouble shooter
683 Views
Message 4 of 49
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unacceptable Lag and Latency, starts every night

It would have been more helpful if you had given that information to start with. No one on here can see what you have connected.

Post the BQM when you have it, and the downstream and upstream data. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 126
  • 1
  • 13
Milambar
Dialled in
661 Views
Message 5 of 49
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unacceptable Lag and Latency, starts every night

My Broadband Ping - Home

Theres the graph for the first 24 hours.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 126
  • 1
  • 13
Milambar
Dialled in
651 Views
Message 6 of 49
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unacceptable Lag and Latency, starts every night

Downstream
 	                        DS-1	        DS-2	        DS-3	        DS-4	        DS-5	        DS-6	        DS-7	        DS-8
Frequency (Hz)	218750000 Hz	202750000 Hz	210750000 Hz	226750000 Hz	234750000 Hz	242750000 Hz	250750000 Hz	258750000 Hz
Lock Status              Locked	         Locked	         Locked	         Locked	         Locked	          Locked	         Locked	         Locked
Channel ID	         11	                 9	                 10	                 12	                 13	                  14	                 15	                 16
Modulation	          QAM256	QAM256	          QAM256	  QAM256	  QAM256	  QAM256	  QAM256	 QAM256
Symbol Rate 	          6.952000	6.952000	          6.952000	  6.952000	  6.952000	  6.952000	  6.952000	 6.952000
Interleave Depth	  I=12 J=17      I=12 J=17         I=12 J=17         I=12 J=17        I=12 J=17        I=12 J=17       I=12 J=17        I=12 J=17
Power Level 	         1.8 dBmV	2.2 dBmV	2.0 dBmV	 1.2 dBmV	  2.6 dBmV	  2.4 dBmV	 2.1 dBmV	2.1 dBmV
RxMER (dB)	         43.2 dB	        43.2 dB	        43.2 dB	         42.5 dB	          43.2 dB	          42.7 dB	         42.5 dB	        43.2 dB
Upstream
 	                US-1	US-2	US-3	US-4
Channel Type	2.0	         2.0	        2.0	        2.0
Channel ID	4	         1	        2	        3
Frequency (Hz)	25800000 Hz	46200000 Hz	39400000 Hz	32600000 Hz
Ranging Status	Success	Success	Success	Success
Modulation	QAM64	QAM64	QAM64	QAM64
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)	5120000	5120000	5120000	5120000
Mini-Slot Size	64	64	64	64
Power Level (dBmV)	32.5 dBmV	33.8 dBmV	33.5 dBmV	32.8 dBmV
T1 Timeouts	0	0	0	0
T2 Timeouts	0	0	0	0
T3 Timeouts	256	256	256	256
T4 Timeouts	0	0	0	0
Sorry for the screwed up formatting, there doesn't seem to be an easy way to post the power levels. One thing I did note, every time the packet loss starts, in the Network Log section, I get an entry that say "Dynamic Range Violation". I also note that the superhubs clock is... one hour behind. Once again, the packet loss started at 11:46, and remained until I was forced to reboot... and came back quite quickly again.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.82K
  • 142
  • 419
jpeg1
Trouble shooter
616 Views
Message 7 of 49
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unacceptable Lag and Latency, starts every night

Your signal levels are OK, but the large number of T3 timeouts confirms that the Hub is being knocked off line during the dropouts shown on the BQM.

There is certainly something wrong with your service and you should insist on an engineer visit to sort it. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 126
  • 1
  • 13
Milambar
Dialled in
596 Views
Message 8 of 49
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unacceptable Lag and Latency, starts every night

Well, hopefully one of the VM staff that frequent these forums can assist with getting it sorted.

I was born with a significant hearing impediment, and a perforated ear drum, and the hearing has only gotten worse over the years, making it pretty near impossible for me to use a telephone for voice calls these days, nor can I afford a textphone sadly. That is why my internet is important to me, with services such as facebook messenger and email, I can keep in touch with friends via a textual medium.

*Pokes the staff in the hope that someone will help*

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.78K
  • 97
  • 183
Forum Team
Forum Team
565 Views
Message 9 of 49
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unacceptable Lag and Latency, starts every night

Hi Milambar,

 

Thank you for reaching out to us in our community, I am sorry to hear that you are having issues with your internet service, I appreciate the importance of the service as you rely on it due to you hearing.

 

I would like to invite you into a private chat so I can get this resolved for you, I will send you an invite shortly, please click on the purple envelope to accept.

 

Kind regards

 

Paul.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 126
  • 1
  • 13
Milambar
Dialled in
526 Views
Message 10 of 49
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unacceptable Lag and Latency, starts every night

I replied to your private message, but I am not sure if my reply went through, as its not showing in my messaging center, only your initial query is showing.
0 Kudos
Reply