Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time from Street Cable to House Connected

Fisher223
Tuning in

Hi,

would like some help please.

My street was cabled approximately six weeks ago and was told that the local network would become live by the end of August. Now mid September and have not seen anyone working on the network since the cable laying.

Can someone give me a guide on the time lapse from street cable installation to system going live and house connection availability. 

Great desire to move from 15mbs currently provided. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

JOE-C
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)

Hi there,

I will send you a private message now to take some details and I will look into this for you.

Thanks Joe 

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

24 REPLIES 24

JOE-C
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)

Hi there,

I will send you a private message now to take some details and I will look into this for you.

Thanks Joe 

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

VM-Jon
Forum Team
Forum Team

I am sure Joe will be able to get you a more accurate date But on average from the cables going into the ground to service going live it’s around six months. This is because although the cables are there the street cabinets may not yet be live. We tend to turn on areas all at once so we need the majority of a bill to be completed before we can activate anybody. I think you’d be looking at Christmas or New Year before he will have the opportunity to take the service. But I’m sure Joe will be able to get you an exact date.

Here to help! I'm an install manager helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

Just sent a reply to Joe-C.

Virgin rep called at the house this morning and informed me the local system will go live from tomorrow!