Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 88
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
993 Views
Message 1 of 95
Flag for a moderator

SuperHub 4 instability

Hi,

I recently received a Superhub 4 after a random call by Virgin call centre in India.

I've fitted it and I'm now getting the following issues and am unable to call through to anyone or use the self-service, or get through to anyone for the last three days on the chat:-

  1. Periodically about three times a day, large packets start to drop and it remains this way for at least 20-30 minutes until I restart the modem, the issue does fix itself eventually too.  Packets over 1450 bytes long have a 98% chance to drop during the problem.
  2. Syn packets are getting dropped randomly (or the Ack from the destination, I can't tell).  Existing connections remain open but suffer TCP retries.  This kind of packet loss prevents visiting any new sites or doing anything not over an already established VPN, and drastically impacts performance.  I get to see "Establishing secure connection" until the issue resolves (when I restart the hub) and then the site will pop up fine.
  3. Once a day, the modem restarts, and shows the welcome screen as if it's fresh out of the box.  It does not accept the new password I've defined, or the one on the bottom.  I had to use the reset button for 10 seconds and then reconfigure it from scratch last time, this time it's at the welcome screen but operating in modem mode so I'm ignoring it until the next issue.  At the same time this first happened, I got a duplicate text message telling me that my new virgin media service is now activated, so this might not be the hubs fault but some other system.

1 and 2 happen at the same time, they are clearly the same issue.  During this issue I get a lot of TCP re-transmissions on existing connections and a wire shark trace shows I'm not getting responses.  I'll extend this and trace to another endpoint too to see if it receives the affected packets.

1 also happens Virgin connection to Virgin connection, so this isn't just an Internet service/transit problem.

My Superhub 3 seemed perfectly reliable but resulted in some latency oddities (up to 100ms extra ping here and there), the Superhub 4 isn't showing any latency problems but the firmware clearly has an issue with packet loss.

Can I swap back to my old Superhub 3 or can someone contact me to investigate this problem?

I've tried to set my own MTU for the interface lower to avoid the problem but that seems to have just reduced the number of times the issue happens, the larger the packets the more likely it is that it's dropped - there isn't a packet size that won't be dropped at all.

I'm having to use my backup connection when it happens, and because of the way it fails it's hard to automate the switchover.  The issue isn't my router, I assumed it could be but tested both a spare router and a direct connection - plus my router is still able to work using the other provider.

The new Virgin modem also fails to function in router mode - most access is fine but L2TP, GRE and protocol 47 tunnels all fail to establish entirely even when the device is in the DMZ and the MTU/packet loss issue also happens periodically.

Highlighted
  • 14.58K
  • 1.14K
  • 3.4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
989 Views
Message 2 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 4 instability

not many on here have a hub4 so help will be limited i think - there are lots of techs on who will probably want account details to diagnose issues - that may help

if its changing your changed password then its resetting which is one of the things offered as a start to any problem so thats out of the way

post the upstream and downstream levels - you will have to work out where they are shown - also the network log and config data

i dont think it matters but what speed are you on

check the coax connections are tight

can you go back to the old hub - you should be able to but you will need to get through to them to get it activated - that might not be an easy phone call

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 88
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
981 Views
Message 3 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 4 instability

Thanks for replying!  Unfortunately the service status page says to post here and doesn't even let me do a self test or any diagnostics from the Virgin end...

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14110000009.00000037.636276QAM2561
0   UNSUPPORTED0
24190000009.19999737.636276QAM2562
34270000009.09999837.636276QAM2563
44350000009.19999737.636276QAM2564
54430000009.80000337.636276QAM2565
64510000009.90000238.605377QAM2566
74590000009.80000338.983261QAM2567
84670000009.90000238.605377QAM2568
94750000009.59999838.605377QAM2569
104830000009.59999838.983261QAM25610
114910000009.59999838.605377QAM25611
124990000009.09999837.636276QAM25612
135070000009.50000038.605377QAM25613
1451500000010.19999738.983261QAM25614
1552300000010.19999738.605377QAM25615
1653100000010.30000338.605377QAM25616
1753900000010.50000038.983261QAM25617
1854700000010.40000238.983261QAM25618
1955500000010.09999838.605377QAM25619
205630000009.69999738.983261QAM25620
215710000009.40000238.605377QAM25621
225790000009.59999838.605377QAM25622
235870000009.59999837.636276QAM25623
245950000009.40000238.605377QAM25624
2560300000010.09999838.605377QAM25625
2661100000010.40000238.605377QAM25626
2761900000010.09999838.605377QAM25627
2862700000010.00000038.605377QAM25628
296350000009.59999838.605377QAM25629
306430000009.59999838.605377QAM25630
316510000009.19999738.605377QAM25631



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked080
0NotLocked000
2Locked3460
3Locked276570
4Locked10480292930
5Locked3420
6Locked3430
7Locked12561670140
8Locked276530
9Locked3430
10Locked3460
11Locked276520
12Locked276580
13Locked3460
14Locked3430
15Locked2765110
16Locked276540
17Locked3470
18Locked34142
19Locked2765110
20Locked276570
21Locked34110
22Locked3420
23Locked2765110
24Locked10239356140
25Locked3460
26Locked3470
27Locked2765130
28Locked2765270
29Locked34100
30Locked3470
31Locked117192439140



0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 88
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
980 Views
Message 4 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 4 instability

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000044.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM2
23940000044.5205995120 KSym/sec64QAM4
34620000044.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM3
46030000044.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0000
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 88
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
979 Views
Message 5 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 4 instability

General Configuration

Network access
true
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
true
DOCSIS Mode
3.1
Config file
snip



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID
1146
Max Traffic Rate
402500089
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID
9973
Max Traffic Rate
38500089
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0
Max Concatenated Burst
42600
Scheduling Type
bestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 88
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
978 Views
Message 6 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 4 instability

I've snipped out the cable modem mac as I know that's used for network addressing locally.  If a mod/tech person needs it please message me.

Network Log
Time Priority Description
Thu 01/01/1970 00:01:21 4 Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu 01/01/1970 00:01:55 3 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 11:26:50 5 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 11:26:55 5 RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 11:41:36 5 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 13:46:57 6 CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 16; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 13:47:23 6 DS profile assignment change. DS Chan ID: 159; Previous Profile: 3; New Profile: 4.;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 13:47:32 6 CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 16; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 2.;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 15:20:43 6 DS profile assignment change. DS Chan ID: 159; Previous Profile: 2; New Profile: 3.;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 15:21:12 6 CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 159; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 16:04:13 5 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 16:04:18 5 RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 16:04:19 5 RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power Exceeds Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 16:34:04 5 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 16:34:11 3 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 16:34:11 5 RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 16:41:14 5 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 26/04/2020 16:41:20 5 RNG-RSP CCAP Commanded Power in Excess of 6 dB Below the Value Corresponding to the Top of the DRW;CM-MAC=Removed;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 88
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
975 Views
Message 7 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 4 instability

Regarding (3) just a simple restart without a reset also fixed it and it started to accept the set password again so the problem is temporary, though I have reset it a couple of times previously.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14.58K
  • 1.14K
  • 3.4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
971 Views
Message 8 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 4 instability

take these comments with - i think as i relating to other hubs i have experience of

upstream levels are high [ish] +10 is the max and you have a few higher than that and most of the rest near - if you had an attenuator on the old hub i would fit that

the pre rs errors on some channels are off the scale - the hub is coping with them but i dont thing all is right

upstream is fine

config says you are on 350 - is that what you think you are on

more than that i cannot add - hopefully i am not off track - sure one of te techs or forum staff will confirm - or not

 

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7.41K
  • 581
  • 1.26K
Legend
969 Views
Message 9 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 4 instability

I don’t know if the DOCSIS 3.1 power levels allowed are different form the 3.0 spec, but if that was a Hub3 then 10 of your downstream power levels are too high. This could well explain some of your problems. Probably you need n attenuator fitted. 


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 88
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
965 Views
Message 10 of 95
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 4 instability

There was no attenuator on the old hub and I don't have one, there weren't any particularly large power levels before.  Let me check the V6 box and see if it has one and I can take it.

Oh wow, they are huge - I don't think you can have that much SnR without enough voltage difference for it to spontaneously melt.  I would imagine it's a bug in the UI, memory of the device (which would explain everything) or just well over the limits for measurement.

Hopefully a tech or someone that can send me one will see this.

0 Kudos
Reply