Menu
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 5
flashware
On our wavelength
520 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Super Hub 3 constant reboots

In the last few weeks I've had my SH3 constantly rebooting. At times it has taken several hours before it's able to be used again and in the last week alone I've had ~12 hours of downtime.

One common thing I've noticed is that it seems to happen around 10am and kick off from there.

For 5 years prior I've had a stable service, so it only appears to be recent and more so after "upgrading" to the SH3.

I can't see anything in the log at the moment as it doesn't go back far enough (only 10 minutes or so) - but will try update if there's anything that does pop in.

Some stats from the modem:

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency(Hz) Power(dBmV) SNR(dB) Modulation Channel ID

129100000012.531.9256 qam20
23230000001331.9256 qam24
331500000012.831.9256 qam23
43070000001331.9256 qam22
529900000012.931.6256 qam21
628300000012.431.9256 qam19
727500000012.432.2256 qam18
82670000001231.9256 qam17
925900000011.831.9256 qam16
102510000001231.9256 qam15
112430000001231.9256 qam14
122350000001232.2256 qam13
132270000001232.2256 qam12
1421900000012.131.9256 qam11
1521100000012.131.9256 qam10
1620300000012.331.6256 qam9
1719500000012.431.9256 qam8
1818700000012.131.9256 qam7
191790000001232.3256 qam6
201710000001232.6256 qam5
2116300000011.632.5256 qam4
2215500000011.932.5256 qam3
231470000001232.3256 qam2
2413900000011.532.5256 qam1

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

137600000ATDMA3732 qam64000005120
231000000ATDMA3764 qam64000005120
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.86K
  • 1.63K
  • 3.82K
Superuser
Superuser
515 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Super Hub 3 constant reboots

Downstream power levels are too high (>10 dBmV) and the SNR is too low (<34 dB.) Also one of your upstreams is suffering from noise (modulation dropped to QAM32.) Overall your connection needs an engineer out. Either call in to 150 / 0345 454 1111 and report a broadband fault. Or wait a week for a staff response to your topic here. Or report it via the Webchat between M-Sa: http://www.virginmedia.com/contact/

______
Any opinions expressed by myself are entirely my own and do not represent Virgin Media in any way.
  • 11
  • 0
  • 5
flashware
On our wavelength
513 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 constant reboots

Thanks Shelke - will try the web chat and failing that, see if it's picked up by forum staff.
  • 12.86K
  • 1.63K
  • 3.82K
Superuser
Superuser
490 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 constant reboots

No problem. If you haven't gotten a staff response in a week, drop me a PM and I'll chase that up for you.

______
Any opinions expressed by myself are entirely my own and do not represent Virgin Media in any way.
  • 10.18K
  • 366
  • 1.15K
Forum Team
Forum Team
452 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 constant reboots

Thanks Shelke how kind

Hello flashware

Thank you for your patience. Downstream still not looking too well

    12 dBmV        12.6 dBmV        12.5 dBmV        12.6 dBmV        12.5 dBmV        12 dBmV        12 dBmV        12 dBmV        11.8 dBmV        11.6 dBmV        11.8 dBmV        11.8 dBmV        11.8 dBmV        11.9 dBmV        11.9 dBmV        11.5 dBmV        12 dBmV        12 dBmV        11.9 dBmV        11.6 dBmV        11.5 dBmV        11.6 dBmV        11.8 dBmV        11.3 dBmV
        33.8 dB        33.3 dB        33.4 dB        33.4 dB        33.3 dB        33.3 dB        33.8 dB        33.8 dB        33.4 dB        33.4 dB        33.8 dB        33.9 dB        33.9 dB        33.8 dB        33.5 dB        33.4 dB        33.3 dB        33.9 dB        34.3 dB        34.4 dB        34.3 dB        34.4 dB        34.3 dB        34.4 dB

I will send you a forum private message to arrange an engineer

Speak soon

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
  • 11
  • 0
  • 5
flashware
On our wavelength
449 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 constant reboots

PM sent Smiley Happy
  • 10.18K
  • 366
  • 1.15K
Forum Team
Forum Team
442 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 constant reboots

Thanks flashware, I have replied with details, good luck with the visit, if you have a moment please pop back in this thread and let us know how it goes.

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
  • 11
  • 0
  • 5
flashware
On our wavelength
408 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 constant reboots

Tech has been and attached an attenuator to the modem which seems to have fixed the downstream power issue. I was told there wasn't anything that could be done for the 1 channel of upstream that had a lower than expected QAM.

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency(Hz) Power(dBmV) SNR(dB) Modulation Channel ID

11950000005.934.3256 qam8
23230000006.533.9256 qam24
33150000006.433.9256 qam23
43070000006.333.9256 qam22
52990000006.133.9256 qam21
62910000005.933.8256 qam20
72830000005.934.3256 qam19
82750000005.634.3256 qam18
92670000005.533.9256 qam17
102590000005.534.3256 qam16
112510000005.534.4256 qam15
122430000005.534.3256 qam14
132350000005.634.4256 qam13
142270000005.534.4256 qam12
152190000005.634.4256 qam11
162110000005.834.3256 qam10
172030000005.833.9256 qam9
181870000005.934.4256 qam7
191790000005.834.3256 qam6
201710000005.535256 qam5
211630000005.534.9256 qam4
221550000005.535256 qam3
231470000005.834.4256 qam2
241390000005.534.9256 qam1

Some work was then spent on the box out the front and was traced back to the cabinet, looks to be a fault there so I've been told that it has been lodged with networks and they will resolve and drop a note through the door. The connection has dropped out once since he left an hour ago, so I'll monitor for a few weeks (once I've received notification the cabinet fault has been rectified) and then hopefully that is the end of it.

  • 12.86K
  • 1.63K
  • 3.82K
Superuser
Superuser
405 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 constant reboots

The upstream QAM will self adjust when the noise issue affecting it is dealt with. The downstream (DS) power levels are fine and while some of the DS SNR isn't perfectly in spec, it's not enough out to be a major problem. Hopefully that cab fault is fixed soon.

______
Any opinions expressed by myself are entirely my own and do not represent Virgin Media in any way.
  • 10.18K
  • 366
  • 1.15K
Forum Team
Forum Team
392 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 constant reboots

Hello @Shelke hope you are well, thanks for your help and normally I would agree but just so you are aware the modulation level for flashware's 37Mhz is set to a default of QAM32 so is not indicative of a problem in this case. We are noticing a few of these now so definitely worth bearing in mind Smiley Happy

 

Hello flashware

Thanks for the update, once the cab has been fixed please let us know so we may run some tests just to be sure.

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team