Menu
Reply
paulgardner99
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
196 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Router keeps restarting itself

My VM router (Super Hub 2ac) has been auto-restarting increasingly often over the past month. It's been as frequent as three times in an hour lately. The pattern is always the same - first all lights go off except the main power light, then the others gradually light up as the router goes through its self-start procedure, which takes around 10 minutes.

As I am working from home during the pandemic, and most of the working day I am in video conferencing (e.g. Microsoft Teams meetings), we simply cannot carry on like this as it is affecting my work.

To make matters worse, the online test facility keeps claiming that there is nothing wrong with the internet connection in my area, even when I'm having to connect via my mobile phone's data connection (O2) to run it! 

If there genuinely isn't a network issue in the area (and I'm not sure I really believe this, since I notice neighbours' VM routers seem to go offline around the same time), then I really need an engineer to check the cabling or test the router. Since we're up to Super Hub 4 now, the 2ac is a bit long in the tooth anyway (although it had given me good service most of the time).

Can any of the team help me get this investigated?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 15.97K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.76K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
187 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router keeps restarting itself

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labelled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
paulgardner99
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
180 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router keeps restarting itself

Thank you, Tony.

Data as follows:

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)138750000146750000154750000162750000170750000178750000186750000194750000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID12345678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)14.9314.7514.6214.4914.2614.2513.9513.99
RxMER (dB)38.2638.6138.2638.2639.4038.9839.4039.40
Pre RS Errors304317282296281291329292
Post RS Errors293305278296272291329292

 

Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID2431
Frequency (Hz)53700000394000004620000060300000
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessSuccessSuccess
Modulation64QAM64QAM64QAM64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)39.7538.2539.7539.75
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts0000
T4 Timeouts0000
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 15.97K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.76K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
177 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Router keeps restarting itself

downstream levels are too high +10 is the max - if you happen to have an attenuator put it in the line that will lower them - if not then you need a tech to sort them

as to the hub - nothing wrong with the 2ac - all sorts of negative comments about the hub3 and 4 although i have had both and they have worked for me - a tech is needed - you need to ring - will flag the thread and see if VM can sort something quicker

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
paulgardner99
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
163 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router keeps restarting itself

No, I don't have an attenuator. Where do I get one? The cabinet is certainly nearby - it's literally across the road. 

But if the lack of an attenuator is causing the problem, why has this problem worsened so much in the past month? I have been a VM customer at this house since 2012.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 15.97K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.76K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
159 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router keeps restarting itself

wait for VM they will sort things - just the off chance you had one from earlier tech visits

why have things worsened - things change - just let them sort it

 

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
paulgardner99
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
131 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router keeps restarting itself

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 2.29K
  • 143
  • 229
Forum Team
Forum Team
93 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router keeps restarting itself

Good morning @paulgardner99 

 

Thank you for coming back to us on the forums. 

 

I have taken a look over your account and you do have some issues with your upstream power levels. you will require an engineer to come and put things right, I have taken the opportunity to book an engineer. 

 

You can find the time and date of your appointment via your online account

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

paulgardner99
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
90 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router keeps restarting itself

Thanks Zak.

I did try clicking the link to find out the date and time of the engineer appointment but I got a “something went wrong” error message. 🤦‍♂️😂

My login for the community is different from the My Virgin account one but both of them get this error message on that link.

E79F1362-5C11-48EC-98C1-0B2677B65BFD.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 2.29K
  • 143
  • 229
Forum Team
Forum Team
87 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router keeps restarting itself

Sorry about that @paulgardner99 

 

Please could you try this one

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply