cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Removal of Virgin white inside box

anxiouscrank
Tuning in

Hi there, newbie here 🙂

I am having to come here as I can't seem to get a straight answer and I have spoken to three different advisors.

My landlord needs to do a damp proof course in my living room which means all power points including the white virgin media box need to be completely removed. What I was trying and failing to find out is whether he can remove it himself or will a technician have to come out to do this. I know they will have to come out to connect it back to the wall but the initial removal?

Also will it cost to have it reconnected. I have been given three different answers to this. So far I have been told a technician has to come out for removal and re-connection costing £25 each time, It can't be done unless I temporarily suspend my services and have a whole new box installed, and lastly it can be done at no charge and that he can remove it himself but technician will obviously have to re-connect it.

Can anyone please tell me exactly what needs to be done.

Thank you in advance to anyone who knows their stuff 😄

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Unfortunately the phone staff are not trained for anything beyond reading a script on a screen. An unusual matter like this will have them guessing any answer just to get rid of the call. 

The equipment all belongs to Virginmedia and you should not tamper with it yourself. You could take a risk and do it yourself, but if anything goes wrong you will be responsible. In the worst case that might be compensation to a neighbour for their loss of service.  The proper and safe way is to call for technician visits to disconnect and reconnect.  That will cost £25 each time, for peace of mind. 

- jpeg1
My name is NOT Alessandro. That's just a tag Virginmedia sticks on some contributors. Please ignore it.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

9 REPLIES 9

carl_pearce