cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions About Engineer Installation

gw95
Tuning in

Hi

I’m new to Virgin Media and I’m due to have a broadband-only package installed on 4th Feb. The property where this will be installed is currently empty and has never had Virgin installed before.

On the public pavement outside I believe the little CATV manhole (that I think Virgin use) has recently been tarmacked over when the Council had the street refurbished. Other CATV manholes in the street can still be seen but the closest one to this property can now no longer be seen (I remember it being there from years ago). Will this affect installation, does anything need to be done beforehand?

My second question is - does the engineer bring the Hub with them, or does that get delivered beforehand? As the property is currently empty I’m concerned nobody will be available to accept delivery.

8 REPLIES 8

goslow
Alessandro Volta

@gw95 wrote:

Hi

I’m new to Virgin Media and I’m due to have a broadband-only package installed on 4th Feb. The property where this will be installed is currently empty and has never had Virgin installed before.

<snip>

The cabling work (bringing a cable from the street cabinet to the property) is often done by sub-contractors. If the pavement cover has been covered over with tarmac, I don't imagine they will carry out any lengthy investigations to try to find it or expose it. In all likelihood the job will be marked as not having an accessible point from the pavement. If that happens, you may well find yourself dropping into a long delay while VM and its contractors work out what to do next. (Read through the many topics about that on this forum).

Do you know where the covered point in the pavement is? Can you rediscover it (maybe using Google street view) and try to mark it in some way?