Menu
Reply
Jay-b1988
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
160 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Not correct socket on wall to connect router

I don’t have the correct socket for the router to connect to on the wall do I need a tech to come and for one? 

0 Kudos
Reply
stabilo00
  • 239
  • 32
  • 52
Superfast
150 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not correct socket on wall to connect router

Do you have a usually brown box on the outside of the property. If so trace the larger cable from there. Can you put pics up of what you have and someone will be able to advise on way forward.
0 Kudos
Reply
Jay-b1988
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
145 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not correct socket on wall to connect router

 
 

I can’t seem to upload pics it says the files too big I have a brown box outside with wires running up to my living room that I assume was for the virgin tv and I have wires running in to my dinning room that I think was for the hub but I don’t have a plug in dinning room for the hub I do have a plug up the stairs but it look old and the socket is on the bottom of the box pointing towards floor 

0 Kudos
Reply
stabilo00
  • 239
  • 32
  • 52
Superfast
142 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not correct socket on wall to connect router

The socket on the bottom of the box pointing to the floor sounds good. The cable you have been sent should either push fit over or screw on. The Virgin tv cable and internet is the same cable coming from the box outside. So as long as you connect to a cable going to that outside box you are in with a good chance.
0 Kudos
Reply
Jay-b1988
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
139 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not correct socket on wall to connect router

Thanks for your help I have plugged on to that hopefully it’s ok 

0 Kudos
Reply
Flying_Kiwi
  • 423
  • 22
  • 86
Fibre optic
101 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not correct socket on wall to connect router

The idea of pushing the new cables plug over the threaded connector on my VM wall jack (rather than screwing it on as per when I was last a VM customer) had me wondering too but the next day after setting it all up, it seems to be working ok.

0 Kudos
Reply
stabilo00
  • 239
  • 32
  • 52
Superfast
93 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Not correct socket on wall to connect router

The push on connectors are the type Virgin tend to send out these days. Expect they think they are easier for customers to fit.
0 Kudos
Reply
Zach_R
  • 484
  • 19
  • 36
Forum Team
Forum Team
44 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not correct socket on wall to connect router

Hi @Jay-b1988,

Thank you for your post, and apologies for our delayed response here.

Do you still need some further assistance with this socket/connection concern, or have you managed to resolve the matter since your post?

Thanks,


 



Zach - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Jay-b1988
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
39 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not correct socket on wall to connect router

Yeah it’s all resolved now I think 

0 Kudos
Reply
Zach_R
  • 484
  • 19
  • 36
Forum Team
Forum Team
37 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not correct socket on wall to connect router

Hi @Jay-b1988,

Thank you for the prompt response and the update on what's going on.

I'm really glad to hear that this has been resolved. If there's anything else we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Thanks,
 



Zach - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply