Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
302 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

New install problems

Hi all. Got virgin today. Self install. Internet is super fast but when I attach TiVo to the cable as well as the router within a minute the router loses connection and cannot connect any more. I followed the install instructions perfectly. Both TV and new work great when plugged in alone but net problems when both connected. Tried to contact customer services and after a hour of not talking to anyone I gave up and can't find live chat. Can anyone help me please

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 69
  • 24
  • 25
Forum Team
Forum Team
283 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New install problems

Hello, sounds a bit of an odd one but as it's something I have seen on multiple occasions whilst out of various jobs following a self install it's worth an ask,

 

In the pack I expect you received a connection with a cable labeled for broadband and a cable labeled for TV, with an ether net connected to both as well, if so then use that ether net cable to connect the box to the hub,

However one thing which is still included in packs (which I hope is taken out soon) is a second seperate ethernet cable which some. Customers often plug into the hub, (both ends) which causes the loss of broadband.

 

Is this something you may have done? Even if it was just to have all cables and connections that you had been sent in use.

 


Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more




If you have found my response helpful today please take the time to mark my answer as helpful and give some Kudos.

Although I work for Vm all/most posts are of my own opinion

Fancy £50 off your bill? Ask me how.
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
255 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install problems

Hi thank you for reply. I have not used the extra ethernet cable. Normally I am very good at troubleshooting problems myself. I have only used items that came in the pack. I have co-ax from wall to splitter then the cable you mentiined that is marked TV and router. Both coax are connected to the right items and the ethernet is going from port one on the router to the TiVo. At the moment I can either have the TiVo connected or the router but not both at same time as I lose internet connection. Do you mean disconnect the co-ax from the TiVo but leave the ethernet connected. Thank you for your help

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 69
  • 24
  • 25
Forum Team
Forum Team
208 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New install problems

Okay that's good then,

Sounds like it could be a signal issue then, when you connect them 1 at a time, is that without the splitter involved and just the connection say, going straight onto the hub?

Regarding the t. V box itself is it a V6 box (small little box) or a Tivo like you've written? If it's a Tivo then it won't need the ethernet connection to the hub to be in place.


Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more




If you have found my response helpful today please take the time to mark my answer as helpful and give some Kudos.

Although I work for Vm all/most posts are of my own opinion

Fancy £50 off your bill? Ask me how.
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
182 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install problems

Tried with and without the splitter. It's a V6 box. Connected back up this morning and seems to be behaving itself now TV and net working together nicely. Thank you for your help. I will keep a eye in it

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 414
  • 23
  • 61
Fibre optic
172 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install problems

Could be a signal level issue.

If it was particularly hot yesterday and a bit cooler this morning your signal levels may have increased by 1-2dB.

Could you try to post your signal levels here. Connect to the maintenance page on your hub; no need to login just use the link at the bottom of the page.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
142 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install problems

Cable Modem StatusItemStatusCommentsAcquired Downstream Channel (Hz)

459000000
Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)

46200034
Locked

Provisioning State

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1459000000-5.437256 qam7
2467000000-5.237256 qam8
3475000000-5.237256 qam9
4483000000-4.737256 qam10
5491000000-5.537256 qam11
6499000000-4.537256 qam12
7507000000-537256 qam13
8515000000-537256 qam14
9523000000-4.737256 qam15
Online
 
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1462000345.1512032 qam5
2258000005.1512064 qam8
3326002345.1512064 qam7
4393996205.1512032 qam6


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
141 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install problems

 

General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u+voc-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID437958
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID437957
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 414
  • 23
  • 61
Fibre optic
134 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install problems

Your down stream levels are too low and upstream too high. In warm weather it is quite possible you won't get a lock.

You need an engineer visit to correct this.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
117 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install problems

Ok thank you. I will get back on phone tomorrow then. Was very hot yesterday and a lot cooler today so you probably are right

0 Kudos
Reply