Menu
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
amiebrains
Joining in
128 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

New customer - Intermittent Internet

We've had Virgin Broadband for about two weeks now and since we've got it the internet is so intermittent. Every day it must go off at least 10 times for between 5 and 30 minutes. 

When it goes off it becomes unavailable for every device in the house, including those connected via ethernet cable. The lights on the modem are flashing white one minute, then solid white, then solid green. Keeps changing until it eventually all comes back online again.

When I check the network status log I see the below repeated over and over:

2018-12-05 01:12:11.00 critical Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-05 01:12:12.00 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Downstream bonded channels:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 6.6 40 256 qam 17
2 323000000 6.8 40 256 qam 20
3 315000000 6.5 40 256 qam 19
4 307000000 6.5 40 256 qam 18
5 291000000 6.8 40 256 qam 16
6 283000000 6.5 40 256 qam 15
7 275000000 6.3 40 256 qam 14
8 267000000 6.5 40 256 qam 13
9 259000000 6.6 40 256 qam 12
10 251000000 6.8 40 256 qam 11
11 243000000 6.5 40 256 qam 10
12 235000000 6.8 40 256 qam 9
13 227000000 6.9 40 256 qam 8
14 219000000 7.3 40 256 qam 7
15 211000000 7.1 40 256 qam 6
16 203000000 7 40 256 qam 5
17 195000000 7.3 40 256 qam 4
18 187000000 7.6 40 256 qam 3
19 179000000 7.5 40 256 qam 2
20 171000000 7.8 40 256 qam 1

Upstream bonded channels

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 25800000 39 5120 64 qam 4
2 32600000 39 5120 64 qam 3
3 39400000 40.5 5120 64 qam 2
4 46200000 41 5120 64 qam 1

Any advice as at the moment it's unusable, especially as some days I'm trying to work from home and an intermittent connection is not going to hack it.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.42K
  • 355
  • 742
Tudor
Community elder
108 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer - Intermittent Internet

Those stats are ok. You did not post the T3 & T4 error counts. There may be noise on your circuit, contact customer services and they will know is there is an area problem. Do not rely on the web page status as it only reports problems when 1000’s of users are affected. 


There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
amiebrains
Joining in
100 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer - Intermittent Internet

"Those stats are ok."
- Good to hear, but somethings definitely not right. 

"You did not post the T3 & T4 error counts."
- I'm not sure where to find the T3 and T4 error counts. Any ideas?

"Do not rely on the web page status as it only reports problems when 1000’s of users are affected. "
- I'm aware of this.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.68K
  • 347
  • 678
Forum Team
Forum Team
61 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer - Intermittent Internet

Hi amiebrains,

 

Welcome to the community and thanks for posting.

 

Sorry to read you are experiencing intermittent broadband connection.

 

When I checked your account, there is an SNR (signal to noise ratio) fault reported in your area. The reference number is F006751488 and has a review date of 11th December. As this is a review date it can be subject to change.

 

For further updates by all means post back here.

 

Regards

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
amiebrains
Joining in
19 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer - Intermittent Internet

Can you give me an update on the fault? It was meant to be fixed yesterday but it's happened again this morning so I'm been sitting here with no internet waiting for it to come back online. As I'm working from home today this does not look good.

Can I please get an update? If this is still occurring in a few days time I'm going to have to go with someone else I'm afraid as can't have internet this unreliable.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 895
  • 47
  • 78
dnpark38
Well-informed
15 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer - Intermittent Internet

Would it be a good idea for you to have a bossiness account rather than domestic if your so dependant on the internet?

Business accounts cost more but have a lot quicker repair time promised.

VM 50 Mps Broadband and anytime phone.
0 Kudos
Reply