Menu
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Ponoma
Tuning in
488 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

New customer: 2 issues tech services did not resolve

Hi,

I installed Virgin on Sunday (2 days ago), then spent about an hour on the phone to technical support getting the TV up and running yesterday.

There are two remaining problems which the support team did not resolve:

1) Flashing red phone symbol light on v6 box. I was told the phone service was "fine" and that this was an "update that would go away". 24 hours later and the icon is still flashing

2) Fibre speeds. I have signed up for a 100mbps package and after several speed tests (ethernet Cat6, no other devices connected) have not been able to get higher than 47mbps. Speaking to friends and family who have Virgin I should be getting the full 100mbps, if not more! However yesterday I was told by tech services that I should expect "50-60" which I did point out was a lot less than advertised and no test I have run could even match that. 

Does the advice given sound correct? Do I have any other option but to call back and be given the same advice? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.27K
  • 68
  • 118
dnpark38
Knows their stuff
485 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer: 2 issues tech services did not resolve

There are a few posts on flashing telephones recently here, maybe a scroll down to them might help.

Speed I'm on 50 mps and get 55 mps so like your friends say expect 100 +, I would think you need VM engineer to adjust what ever they do at the cabinet or where ever.

 


"VM 50 Mps Broadband and anytime phone."
  • 13.09K
  • 1K
  • 3.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
479 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer: 2 issues tech services did not resolve

sounds like you have been talking to offshore who will say most anything to get you off the line

post some info

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

____________________

Tony
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Ponoma
Tuning in
468 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer: 2 issues tech services did not resolve

Thanks to both responses above:

1) Phone Line: the hub network diagnostic has uncovered an error with "Hub Status:telephony  (Not Ready) ". I did receive an email on Sunday asking to call tech services about my phone status so it must be identifiable on internal tests too. 

2) Fibre Speed Router Status

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1299000000-18.931256 qam21
2139000000-15.333256 qam1
3147000000-15.932256 qam2
4155000000-16.732256 qam3
5163000000-16.532256 qam4
6171000000-16.432256 qam5
7179000000-1732256 qam6
8187000000-17.232256 qam7
9195000000-17.432256 qam8
10203000000-17.532256 qam9
11211000000-17.832256 qam10
12235000000-1831256 qam13
13243000000-18.431256 qam14
14251000000-18.831256 qam15
15259000000-1931256 qam16
16267000000-1931256 qam17
17275000000-1931256 qam18
18283000000-18.831256 qam19
19291000000-1931256 qam20
20307000000-18.531256 qam22
21315000000-18.331256 qam23
22323000000-18.231256 qam24


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked3120033435774
2Locked333327479320
3Locked32.69880353177
4Locked32.511716709171
5Locked32.655517824
6Locked32.55786737128
7Locked32.510289671125
8Locked32.321717192146
9Locked32.514591769136
10Locked32.323545313152
11Locked32.320732820130
12Locked31.934109564103
13Locked31.850369324118
14Locked31.682906732116
15Locked31.11495162820
16Locked31.11470760360
17Locked31.4112812174105
18Locked31.611788849578
19Locked31.415898092317
20Locked31.69195777141
21Locked31.954388351124
22Locked31.957157030103

 

 

 

Upstream:

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1257999965.7512064 qam4


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.09K
  • 1K
  • 3.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
456 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer: 2 issues tech services did not resolve

they are awful - i am amazed you have ant broadband

downstream should be between +10 -6

and you should have more than one upstream - the one you have is way too high - theres a bug in the way it displays - for 5.7 read 57 ie x10 - the max is about 50

you need a tech to sort that

lets shout at VM

@ModTeam - nothing anyone can do on here can someone get a tech sorted

____________________

Tony
  • 653
  • 33
  • 46
Forum Team
Forum Team
426 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer: 2 issues tech services did not resolve

Hello Pomona

 

Thank you for posting on the forum and welcome to the community, given the information provided previously I'm going to send you a Private Message to get some details which will allow me to look into this further for you.

 

Thanks

 

Rob

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Ponoma
Tuning in
398 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer: 2 issues tech services did not resolve

Thanks again Tony

Robert I have replied to your message and await your response

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 653
  • 33
  • 46
Forum Team
Forum Team
383 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer: 2 issues tech services did not resolve

It hasn't come through to me yet but I will respond via the private message once received Pomona.

 

Rob

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Ponoma
Tuning in
207 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer: 2 issues tech services did not resolve

Hi,

Last response from Rob posted below.

Could someone from the team follow up and book an engineer visit. Ignored the problem for several months but am now struggling with download speeds so really need this to get resolved.

Also having problems with subscribed TV channels breaking up and poor quality.

Thanks,

Tom. 

 

I can see some power level issues with your Hub but it hasn't been rebooted for 4 day, can you reboot this for me and I can check again? If the levels remain the same I can book an engineer visit to investigate further.

 

Rob

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.38K
  • 59
  • 108
Forum Team
Forum Team
188 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer: 2 issues tech services did not resolve

Hello Ponoma

 

I appreciate that was a long time ago, what issues are you having exactly?

 

Thanks Joe_F

0 Kudos
Reply