Menu
TaraNorri
Joining in
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Longer cables!

I need to change the location of my tv so I need longer cables but the current hub and TiVo cables I have aren’t standard RG6 coax cables and apparently Virgin don’t offer longer cables, either as standard or at an additional cost! Someone from the technical department told me it’s an RF55 cable but I think that’s something he just made up to get me off the phone! 

I’m not tech savvy, so I don’t know if completely swapping out the whole set up for RG6 cables will work.

Please can someone help me, I’ve got to the stage now where I feel like cancelling my contract and going elsewhere 

0 Kudos
chenks
Super solver
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Longer cables!

they will come out and re-cable for you, at a cost of £99 for the engineer visit.
0 Kudos
TaraNorri
Joining in
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Thanks chenks but I’m aware of the hostage fees Virgin charge. I would rather use that money and move to a sky Q package! 

I just really want to know what cables I need

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

.. and it would not be sensible for someone who admits to not be ‘tech savvy’ to makes these changes themselves.

You do know how to review and correct the incoming signal levels once you’ve made the alterations?

0 Kudos
chenks
Super solver
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

@TaraNorri wrote:

Thanks chenks but I’m aware of the hostage fees Virgin charge. I would rather use that money and move to a sky Q package! 

I just really want to know what cables I need

call cancellations then and start the move away.

0 Kudos
Roger_Gooner
Wise owl
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Why don't you explain in more detail what you are trying to achieve. If, say, you want to move your TV 15ft to another part of the room, a longer HDMI cable could be the answer.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6