Menu
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 3
Iru786
On our wavelength
495 Views
Message 1 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Just got connected : syncing at lower spped

Hi All,

Just got connected to VM on Vivid 350 plan. But the the acquired down stream is syncing at 299. The engineer who came to install advised that i might need to log a call with tech support as they might need the adjust this speed from their side.

Can anyone provide a bit more advise on this please?

Thanks

Iru

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 3
Iru786
On our wavelength
486 Views
Message 2 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just got connected : syncing at lower spped

Downstream bonded channels

     
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
12990000007.538256 qam21
23230000007.540256 qam24
33150000007.340256 qam23
43070000007.340256 qam22
5291000000740256 qam20
62830000006.838256 qam19
72750000006.438256 qam18
82670000006.338256 qam17
9259000000638256 qam16
10251000000638256 qam15
112430000005.838256 qam14
12235000000638256 qam13
13227000000638256 qam12
142190000006.138256 qam11
152110000006.438256 qam10
162030000006.538256 qam9
171950000006.538256 qam8
181870000006.638256 qam7
191790000006.538256 qam6
201710000006.638256 qam5
211630000006.638256 qam4
221550000006.838256 qam3
231470000006.938256 qam2
241390000006.838256 qam1
      
      
Downstream bonded channels     
ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors 
1Locked38.948743229189 
2Locked40.348724202240 
3Locked40.348894176022 
4Locked40.948959265137 
5Locked40.348731212778 
6Locked38.948670212649 
7Locked38.948883208345 
8Locked38.648778208827 
9Locked38.946890131801 
10Locked38.944160221615 
11Locked38.940370158220 
12Locked38.93752367418 
13Locked38.92827274413 
14Locked38.92528253087 
15Locked38.92664239915 
16Locked38.92874449346 
17Locked38.93067150962 
18Locked38.92354726952 
19Locked38.92486241171 
20Locked38.92277116987 
21Locked38.62780443691 
22Locked38.92821122722 
23Locked38.91412825775 
24Locked38.9425737029 
      
Upstream bonded channels     
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
14620000039512016 qam49
23260000039512016 qam51
33940000039.5512016 qam50
42580000038.8512016 qam52
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.26K
  • 141
  • 576
cje85
Problem sorter
475 Views
Message 3 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just got connected : syncing at lower spped

Where are you seeing the speed?

The current connection rate is shown on the configuration tab, under Max Traffic Rate.

This example shows the downstream is set to 402Mb and upstream 22Mb which is standard for the 350Mb service.

maxtraffic.png

 

You might be looking at the figures displayed under 'Status' instead, but that shows the frequency of the main downstream channel and is unrelated to speed.

 

  • 17
  • 0
  • 3
Iru786
On our wavelength
468 Views
Message 4 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just got connected : syncing at lower spped

Hi,

I was looking at the Status tab. Image as below.

 

VM_Status.PNG

VM_Speed.PNG

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 547
  • 44
  • 171
DreamOfCheese
Rising star
454 Views
Message 5 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just got connected : syncing at lower spped

The acquired down and upstream channel frequency is not the speed the connection will run at, it's the available frequency range for the channels to utilise.

DOCSIS does not have a 'sync' like xDSL connections do, instead when your modem connects with the CMTS it'll get sent over the configuration for your package which includes the Max Traffic Rates seen on the config tab. that's the maximum speed your package allows your modem to run at, which is your package speed + 15%.

For 350mbps your modem will be configured for a max traffic rate of 402.5mbps
  • 17
  • 0
  • 3
Iru786
On our wavelength
450 Views
Message 6 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just got connected : syncing at lower spped

Thanks guys for the replies.

So am i correct in saying that from the stats that i posted, everything seems to be fine?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16K
  • 1.67K
  • 3.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
432 Views
Message 7 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just got connected : syncing at lower spped


@Iru786 wrote:

Thanks guys for the replies.

So am i correct in saying that from the stats that i posted, everything seems to be fine?

Thanks


Yes, but you should perform a speedtest at speedtest.net, preferably via an Ethernet-connected gigabit device, to determine that your speed is being delivered.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 3
Iru786
On our wavelength
409 Views
Message 8 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just got connected : syncing at lower spped

Hi Guys
Did various speed test over the course of a day. The maximum i am getting in 309Mbps. The results below is from this morning. Is ok for Vivid 350 package? should i not be getting above 350Mbps?


7889056389

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16K
  • 1.67K
  • 3.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
396 Views
Message 9 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just got connected : syncing at lower spped

Were those tests wired or wireless?

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17
  • 0
  • 3
Iru786
On our wavelength
390 Views
Message 10 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just got connected : syncing at lower spped

I have put the SH3 in modem mode and have connected Dlink DIR-878 to it.

the test with done with wired connection using Gigabit port.

0 Kudos
Reply