Menu
Reply
egordon22
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
438 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Internet keeps disconnecting Hub3

Hi all,

I seem to be having the disconnection errors that some others have posted. How do I log a call with Virgin support? Don't fancy spending 2 hours holding on a phone. 😩

Seems to happen every evening around 5:00pm ish.

02/06/2021 19:31:20 Warning! ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=***********;CMTS-MAC=*************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/06/2021 19:29:40 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=*************;CMTS-MAC=***************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/06/2021 19:27:13 notice Received REG-RSP while in REG-HOLD1 state;CM-MAC=*************;CMTS-MAC=************;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
egordon22
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
431 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet keeps disconnecting Hub3

Some additional info. Sorry for the formatting.

Refresh data
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 363000000 2.2 37 256 qam 29
2 219000000 2.2 37 256 qam 11
3 227000000 2 37 256 qam 12
4 235000000 1.7 37 256 qam 13
5 243000000 1.7 37 256 qam 14
6 251000000 1.7 37 256 qam 15
7 259000000 1.7 37 256 qam 16
8 267000000 1.9 37 256 qam 17
9 275000000 1.9 37 256 qam 18
10 283000000 2 37 256 qam 19
11 291000000 2 37 256 qam 20
12 299000000 2 37 256 qam 21
13 307000000 2 37 256 qam 22
14 315000000 2.2 37 256 qam 23
15 323000000 2.2 37 256 qam 24
16 331000000 2.2 37 256 qam 25
17 339000000 2 37 256 qam 26
18 347000000 2.2 37 256 qam 27
19 355000000 2 37 256 qam 28
20 371000000 2.5 37 256 qam 30
21 379000000 2.7 37 256 qam 31
22 387000000 2.7 37 256 qam 32
23 395000000 2.9 38 256 qam 33
24 403000000 3 37 256 qam 34


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 37.6 22 0
2 Locked 37.3 28 0
3 Locked 37.3 18 0
4 Locked 37.3 28 0
5 Locked 37.3 28 0
6 Locked 37.6 15 0
7 Locked 37.3 21 0
8 Locked 37.3 13 0
9 Locked 37.6 34 0
10 Locked 37.3 11 0
11 Locked 37.6 33 0
12 Locked 37.6 25 0
13 Locked 37.6 11 0
14 Locked 37.6 31 0
15 Locked 37.6 20 0
16 Locked 37.6 22 0
17 Locked 37.6 27 1
18 Locked 37.6 20 12
19 Locked 37.6 17 43
20 Locked 37.6 23 0
21 Locked 37.6 22 0
22 Locked 37.6 14 14
23 Locked 38.6 13 13
24 Locked 37.6 11 14

Refresh data
Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 46199944 33.8 5120 64 qam 3
2 39400000 33.8 5120 64 qam 4
3 53700000 35.3 5120 64 qam 2
4 60300024 35.3 5120 64 qam 1


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 29.1K
  • 2.9K
  • 5.48K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
377 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet keeps disconnecting Hub3

Are the disconnects only evident on wifi connections or do you see them at the same times on devices connected on ethernet cables? If you don't know, can you check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection related?

What are the various Hub lights showing/doing when this happens?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
egordon22
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
360 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet keeps disconnecting Hub3

Hi John,

Both ethernet and Wifi...and the TV, so it looks to be the circuit. Hub3 just has the white light. Sometimes my browser takes me to the Hub logon page and when i select the language I get directed to an "update in progress" page and a "Refresh" button.

Power off/on doesn't help. Seems to happen around the same time, usually around 5pm. Service is restored after around 30min to 1 hr, but yesterday it was more like 2hrs.

This evening (touch wood) it's been totally fine but last couple of weeks it was every evening.

Cheers.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 29.1K
  • 2.9K
  • 5.48K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
319 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet keeps disconnecting Hub3

If the Hub3 just has a solid white light - that indicates "normal connectivity"

What wired devices drop and when they do is the light still static white? Can you do this.

__________________________________

If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Ashleigh_C
  • 2.83K
  • 112
  • 234
Forum Team
Forum Team
301 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet keeps disconnecting Hub3

Hi there @egordon22

 

Thank you so much for your post to our community forums and I am so sorry to hear this has been happening. 

 

I know you have tried turning the Hub off and on, but can I ask if you have performed a full factory reset? To do this, just take a pen etc and push it in to the 'reset' hole at the back of the Hub and hole it for around 30 seconds. 

 

Thank you.

Ash_C
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
egordon22
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
265 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet keeps disconnecting Hub3

Hi Ashleigh,

Yes, performed the factory reset. 

If it's any help, here's the logs for the past few days. Loss of service seems to coincide with the messages "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;"

I'm guessing the clock reset to 1970 was when I did the factory reset.

Regards,

Eric

14/07/2021 17:13:48noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 17:13:48ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 16:49:52noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 16:49:42Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 16:43:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 19:32:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 15:39:0criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:00:16Warning!ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:00:14criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:00:14criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/07/2021 18:25:10Warning!ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/07/2021 18:24:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/07/2021 18:24:30criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/07/2021 18:23:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Hayley_S
  • 3.42K
  • 110
  • 225
Forum Team
Forum Team
246 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet keeps disconnecting Hub3

Hello @egrodon22.

 

Thank you for providing this information.

 

I am sorry to see your error messages are showing many different errors.

 

I have located your account and I can see that it is due to your upstream, I will need to book an engineer for you but I will need to bring you into a private message to make sure I have the right customer.

 

Please look our for a purple envelope at the top of your page.

 

Look forward to speaking with you.

 

 

Hayley
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Hayley_S
  • 3.42K
  • 110
  • 225
Forum Team
Forum Team
241 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet keeps disconnecting Hub3

Hello @egordon22.

 

Thank you for confirming your details to me in a private message.

 

Your engineer appointment has been booked, you will find this appointment on your online account. To locate your appointment please follow the advice here.

 

I hope this helps! Please keep us updated on how this goes.

 

Many thanks,

Hayley
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply