Menu
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
robtheforce
Tuning in
609 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent broadband

I've been having intermittent broadband issues (for a few months), whereby my connection just drops, sometimes, it reconnects after 5 mins or so, other times it needs a router reboot. I've also noticed that my connection speed is poor - nowhere near the 250 Mbit - usually around the 20Mbit (or less).

Looking at the network log I see the following:

Time Priority Description

2018-12-10 13:21:46.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-12 00:25:26.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-14 17:31:46.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-15 10:15:06.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-15 17:09:16.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-16 01:01:48.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1970-01-01 00:01:38.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-21 11:58:54.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-22 12:40:58.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-22 15:32:39.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-22 19:28:57.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-22 23:20:26.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-25 00:33:02.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-25 19:40:09.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-25 23:01:13.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-26 05:30:46.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-26 15:21:26.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-27 03:08:26.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-12-27 12:11:28.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1970-01-01 00:01:36.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Anyone help??

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.58K
  • 879
  • 1.33K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
603 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Post up the downstream & upstream data as well

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
  • 19.22K
  • 1.68K
  • 4.22K
Superuser
Superuser
603 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

can you post the downstream and upstream, also is this via wired/wireless?, if its wireless can you test it via wired



--------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up on kudos. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution, but only do this once issue has been resolved.
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
robtheforce
Tuning in
593 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000001.240256 qam21
23230000000.538256 qam24
33150000000.538256 qam23
43070000000.938256 qam22
5275000000240256 qam18
6267000000240256 qam17
7259000000240256 qam16
8251000000240256 qam15
92430000002.238256 qam14
102350000002.538256 qam13
112270000002.938256 qam12
122190000003.240256 qam11
132110000003.740256 qam10
14203000000440256 qam9
151950000004.140256 qam8
161870000004.540256 qam7
171790000004.540256 qam6
181710000004.940256 qam5
191630000004.940256 qam4
201550000005.140256 qam3
211470000005.340256 qam2
221390000005.540256 qam1
232910000001.538256 qam20
24283000000238256 qam19



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.380
2Locked38.950
3Locked38.970
4Locked38.950
5Locked40.350
6Locked40.330
7Locked40.330
8Locked40.350
9Locked38.960
10Locked38.970
11Locked38.950
12Locked40.360
13Locked40.350
14Locked40.350
15Locked40.360
16Locked40.340
17Locked40.350
18Locked40.330
19Locked40.360
20Locked40.3310
21Locked40.380
22Locked40.910
23Locked38.650
24Locked38.960

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000043.5512064 qam68
26030000043.5512064 qam67
33940000042.5512064 qam70
44620000043512064 qam69



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

To be honest - I'm not sure regarding wired/wireless. I'm currently using Mac connected to router using power line adapter and/or wifi. Would be a problem to connect directly to the router - although could possibly manage if needed.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
robtheforce
Tuning in
592 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

I've replied to other user as you both asked the same question. 🙂 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
robtheforce
Tuning in
520 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Anyone from Virgin Media able to shed some light on this?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.58K
  • 879
  • 1.33K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
512 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Those figures look in spec to me. Will need a VM person to check that and for noise on the line. They pick these threads up after a week or so but answer the "oldest" first so dont bump it as that moves it back to the top of the list!

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
robtheforce
Tuning in
507 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

OK - thanks for reply.

Are the Error, Critical and Warning msgs in the log normal then?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 19.22K
  • 1.68K
  • 4.22K
Superuser
Superuser
500 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Intermittent broadband

having a few Error, Critical and Warning in the log is common its more if the log is getting filled with issues



--------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up on kudos. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution, but only do this once issue has been resolved.
  • 828
  • 26
  • 47
Forum Team
Forum Team
392 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Hi robtheforce, thank you for getting in touch.  

 

I have ran a check from our side and it does not flag any issues for the service. This was for the downstream, upstream and SNR ( Signal to Noise Ratio ).

 

Are you still experiencing these issues?

 

Thanks,

  

 

 

Nat
0 Kudos
Reply