cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have not received wall socket

Sooooo
Joining in

Hi I just had my new virgin media hub 3.0 but I don’t have a virgin media wall socket.

I am new to virgin media 

How can i get the wall socket ? 

I have chosen self install 

11 REPLIES 11

-tony-
Alessandro Volta

you need a tech - wait here for VM or give them a ring

what happened to the wall socket that was there - if they have allowed self install there must have been VM there before

Tony.
Sacked VIP

In some properties the wall socket will have the logo of a predecessor company such as Telewest or NTL, and it should still be fine so longer the the cable is connected.

--
Hub 5, TP-Link TL-SG108S 8-port gigabit switch, 360
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM hub 5 broadband connection

Look at this to help:

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/installing-virgin-media

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

nodrogd
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Self installs are only offered if there has been a service in use at the property in the last few years.

The sockets are VM property & should not be removed, however if the previous occupant was not a Virgin customer or was & then changed provider they may have removed it.

Check on you outside wall for an omni-box which terminates the cable from the street. If this is also missing it gets even more complicated as a repull back to the street cabinet will be required, causing further delays. Omni-boxes are usually brown (as below) but older ones may be grey.

Virgin brown omniboxVirgin brown omnibox

VM 350BB 2xV6 & Landline. Freeview/Freesat HD, ASDA/Tesco PAYG Mobile. Cable customer since 1993

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more