Menu
thedrussell
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 set up issues

I contacted VM last week because my internet completely dropped out – no amount of resets or joyful calls to the India call centre fixed it ("have you checked that your device is connected to wifi?").

I won't bore anyone with the details of the incredibly tedious couple of days I spent trying to get answers out of customer support but their solution was to send me a Hub 3. In the mean time, I managed to get the wifi working again by switching to 5GHZ. Not an actual fix because some of my devices don't support it, but better than nothing.

I set it up as per the instructions and waited for 2 hours while it went through the flashing light cycle indicating it was updating. I'm no expert, but the manual said up to 20 mins for the update, I found some people on forums saying up to 40 minutes but 2 hours seems sort of ridiculous? In the end I unplugged it and reverted back to my old router, which is working fine (albeit at a frequency I can't use).

I'm fed up of trying to speak to VM customer support on the phone (same conversation every time that goes nowhere), chat bot support (took 2 hours to reply to a message then ended the conversation?) and twitter ("We're sorry to hear you're having trouble, give us a call on 0345... and we'll get it sorted for you").

Please tell me someone here can help. 

0 Kudos
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 set up issues

Hi thedrussell.

Thanks for posting and welcome to the community 🙂

Have you managed to activate your router? If not, please follow the instructions given, and this will fix your issue 🙂

Kind regards,

John_GS
Forum Team

Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - "How to pay my Virgin Media bill"

0 Kudos
thedrussell
Joining in
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator