Menu
Reply
HughJarsse
  • 1.29K
  • 46
  • 639
Knows their stuff
618 Views
Message 1 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 network log..is this normal?

OK, 

have had a problem with an ageing hub2, and an engineer was booked to come to look at the problem. He replaced it with a hub 3, which appears to be somewhat slow? and sometimes seems to 'hang' a bit compared to the old hub 2.

Looking at the network log, I get this..

01/09/2021 10:41:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/08/2021 01:55:20Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2021 23:50:10criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2021 12:22:26Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2021 22:41:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2021 09:37:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2021 04:10:33Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2021 13:11:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/08/2021 01:54:37Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2021 10:41:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/08/2021 13:55:1Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/08/2021 18:43:51criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/08/2021 15:28:57Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2021 22:41:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2021 16:00:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/08/2021 08:10:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/08/2021 19:13:15noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/08/2021 19:11:48Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/08/2021 12:20:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/08/2021 10:41:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Not looking so good to me? 

Anybody got any ideas here? do we need another engineer visit?

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 30.56K
  • 3.02K
  • 5.8K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
614 Views
Message 2 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 network log..is this normal?

Post up the other stats from the upstream and downstream pages.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
HughJarsse
  • 1.29K
  • 46
  • 639
Knows their stuff
575 Views
Message 3 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 network log..is this normal?

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1330750000-236256 qam25
2234750000-137256 qam13
3242750000-1.237256 qam14
4250750000-137256 qam15
5258750000-1.237256 qam16
6266750000-1.536256 qam17
7274750000-1.536256 qam18
8282750000-1.236256 qam19
9290750000-1.536256 qam20
10298750000-235256 qam21
11306750000-2.535256 qam22
12314750000-1.935256 qam23
13322750000-1.535256 qam24
14338750000-1.735256 qam26
15346750000-1.535256 qam27
16354750000-235256 qam28
17362750000-2.735256 qam29
18370750000-2.235256 qam30
19378750000-1.735256 qam31
20386750000-2.235256 qam32
21394750000-2.935256 qam33
22402750000-2.435256 qam34
23410750000-235256 qam35
24418750000-2.234256 qam36



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.3679572114
2Locked37316221392
3Locked37468632169
4Locked374652777
5Locked37514219412
6Locked36.877033413
7Locked36.61357555330
8Locked36.615451263
9Locked36.121066823423
10Locked35.9458134791
11Locked35.93852816328
12Locked35.96134654
13Locked35.947765018816
14Locked35.73908567273
15Locked35.992329438
16Locked35.782101017591
17Locked35.4187703515
18Locked35.512370532761
19Locked35.4206180290
20Locked35.4176277120376
21Locked35.232400225
22Locked35.2356181395
23Locked3572441791
24Locked34.7787571710017
0 Kudos
Reply
HughJarsse
  • 1.29K
  • 46
  • 639
Knows their stuff
572 Views
Message 4 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 network log..is this normal?

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000049.5512064 qam6
26030000049512064 qam5
33940000049512064 qam8
44620000049.3512064 qam7



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00110
2ATDMA0050
3ATDMA00140
4ATDMA00110
0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 5.83K
  • 481
  • 1.48K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
551 Views
Message 5 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 network log..is this normal?

Too many T3 and PostRS errors!   You will need an engineer to get this sorted out.   However, please check all the connections are "finger" tight as loose connections can cause noise ingress.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
HughJarsse
  • 1.29K
  • 46
  • 639
Knows their stuff
537 Views
Message 6 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 network log..is this normal?

OK, checked all connections, and all are finger tight and secure, so assume it's an engineer visit then. 

Probably the hub was a 'refurbished' one, complete with inbuilt problems, rather then a 'new' one. (been like this since it was installed!)

0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 11.49K
  • 887
  • 2.27K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
522 Views
Message 7 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 network log..is this normal?

You did not say what the original problem was with your SuperHub2 before getting it replaced with a Hub3. This type of problem shown by your stats is usually a circuit or cabinet problem, not the hub.


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
HughJarsse
  • 1.29K
  • 46
  • 639
Knows their stuff
504 Views
Message 8 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 network log..is this normal?

Hi Tudor,

Original problem with hub 2 was the wi-fi packed up, as in it would lose both 2.4 & 5 at various times, of it's own accord, and got worse and worse, so VM sent an engineer, who replaced the  hub2 with a hub 3, as they no longer offered hub2. 

The wi-fi has been rock solid since the new hub, (which solved the original problem) and wired has always been good anyway, so not too sure what's happened since with the network logs, (unless the 'new' hub was a 'refurbished' one that has problems?

0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 11.49K
  • 887
  • 2.27K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
490 Views
Message 9 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 network log..is this normal?

Can you power cycle the hub and post a new set of stats after a few hours.


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
HughJarsse
  • 1.29K
  • 46
  • 639
Knows their stuff
461 Views
Message 10 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 network log..is this normal?

Hi Tudor, 

Hub power cycled and reset, here are the new stats from then. (Friday AM 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1330750000-1.736256 qam25
2234750000-0.537256 qam13
3242750000-1.537256 qam14
4250750000-1.537256 qam15
5258750000-137256 qam16
6266750000-0.937256 qam17
7274750000-1.936256 qam18
8282750000-1.736256 qam19
9290750000-0.736256 qam20
10298750000-1.536256 qam21
11306750000-336256 qam22
12314750000-2.436256 qam23
13322750000-0.936256 qam24
14338750000-2.536256 qam26
15346750000-236256 qam27
16354750000-1.236256 qam28
17362750000-2.435256 qam29
18370750000-336256 qam30
19378750000-235256 qam31
20386750000-1.235256 qam32
21394750000-2.735256 qam33
22402750000-335256 qam34
23410750000-235256 qam35
24418750000-1.235256 qam36



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.659960
2Locked37.671455
3Locked37.668844
4Locked37.676314
5Locked37.3871309
6Locked37.395136
7Locked36.6193597
8Locked36.627708
9Locked36.62436545
10Locked36.346297
11Locked36.64074130
12Locked36.357140
13Locked36.64424325
14Locked36.35802169
15Locked36.3114170
16Locked36.67877403
17Locked35.7168530
18Locked36.31552657
19Locked35.5294390
20Locked35.723414357
21Locked35.5339900
22Locked35.7426320
23Locked35.7725970
24Locked35.586780210

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000049.5512064 qam6
26030000049512064 qam5
33940000049512064 qam8
44620000049.3512064 qam7



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0010
0 Kudos
Reply