Menu
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Jacobyswift
Joining in
345 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3.0 Wired internet connection intermittantly drops for several seconds

We have just moved and had a 100Mb Broadband connection installed last month by a Virgin Media engineer.

Since its installation the internet connection intermittently drops for several seconds then reconnects.

This is a wired connection rather than wireless, into a Hub 3.0 router. I've downloaded a wifi analyser app and the wireless signal seems to stay connected, but its difficult to test/observe as it's intermittent and only for several seconds. The event viewer in Windows is logging the internet as unavailable for around 14seconds, about four times an hour.

Does anyone have any advice or has encountered similar issues with these 3.0 routers?

Or should I log this with Virgin for an engineer?

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.49K
  • 427
  • 918
Tudor
Superstar
339 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wired internet connection intermittantly drops for several seconds

Could be a circuit problem. Go into your hub on 192.168.0.1 and post your up/down stream stats and network log. 


There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7.36K
  • 765
  • 1.15K
jbrennand
Legend
325 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wired internet connection intermittantly drops for several seconds

As well as posting up the hub data, check that all your coax connections are in nice and "finger" tight at the Hub and the wall box and at any splitters/attenuators/etc and that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing (rabbit chews!). Also check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Jacobyswift
Joining in
310 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wired internet connection intermittantly drops for several seconds

Hi there,

My internet connection and up/down speed seem fine, which is why I'm (optimistically) assuming it's a problem with a specific piece of hardware/setting rather than just an overloaded network that occasionally tips over the edge.

My router says this:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11710000002.740256 qam5
23230000003.440256 qam24
3315000000340256 qam23
43070000002.940256 qam22
52990000003.240256 qam21
62910000002.740256 qam20
72830000002.740256 qam19
82750000002.540256 qam18
92670000002.240256 qam17
102590000002.540256 qam16
112510000002.540256 qam15
122430000002.540256 qam14
132350000002.540256 qam13
142270000002.540256 qam12
152190000002.740256 qam11
162110000002.740256 qam10
172030000002.740256 qam9
181950000002.740256 qam8
191870000002.740256 qam7
201790000002.740256 qam6
211630000002.440256 qam4
221550000002.240256 qam3
231470000002.440256 qam2
241390000002.240256 qam1



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.38770
2Locked40.3270
3Locked40.9550
4Locked40.3330
5Locked40.3550
6Locked40.9380
7Locked40.3440
8Locked40.3590
9Locked40.3680
10Locked40.3550
11Locked40.3370
12Locked40.3520
13Locked40.3500
14Locked40.3520
15Locked40.3410
16Locked40.3540
17Locked40.3550
18Locked40.3720
19Locked40.31100
20Locked40.32420
21Locked40.327260
22Locked40.379430
23Locked40.3151700
24Locked40.3258060

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12580000046512016 qam4
23940000046512016 qam2
34620000046512016 qam1
43260000046512016 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0050
2ATDMA0090
3ATDMA0030
4ATDMA0050

 

(errors to follow... exceeded post max length.)

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Jacobyswift
Joining in
308 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wired internet connection intermittantly drops for several seconds

... (continued from previous part-reply)

Network Log

Time Priority Description

2019-01-18 07:13:14.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-18 08:09:34.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-18 08:09:34.00noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-18 22:40:49.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-26 03:43:40.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-27 01:20:05.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-27 01:20:05.00noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-27 06:01:14.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-01-31 09:15:51.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-01 13:36:36.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-01 13:36:36.00noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-02 13:10:09.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-04 23:55:13.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-05 02:09:01.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-05 11:08:40.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-05 13:50:54.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-05 16:45:24.00ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-05 22:22:10.00ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-05 22:22:10.00noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-06 06:15:40.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;


I have no idea what any of those router error messages mean, but none of those error timestamps coincide with my network outages. For example, looking at my windows event logs (in Application and Service Logs> Microsoft> Windows> UniversalTelemetryClient> Operational), event ID 55: "Is the Internet available: false" occurred 14 times between 10:30am and 12:30pm, each showing as having reconnected 14 seconds later.

Thanks for offering advice on this.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7.36K
  • 765
  • 1.15K
jbrennand
Legend
302 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wired internet connection intermittantly drops for several seconds

While you are at it... set up a BQM for monitoring your connection 24/7 at..
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Jacobyswift
Joining in
300 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wired internet connection intermittantly drops for several seconds

This is the area where I am assuming I wont get past a helpdesk phone call, which is why it's taken me a month to get around to doing this and I'm trying to fix the problem myself first before going through the hasstle.

We are currently living in a house we are renovating - upstairs is finished, which is where we're living as a flat, downstairs is still mostly a building site, which is where the broadband is connected. The network connection actually goes from the Router, through a short patch cable to the wall network point, through a Solid cat6 cable to a network point upstairs, then through a short patch cable from that network point to the PC. Plenty of room for there to be a dodgy connection.

All of the cables seem fine. I have just ordered a couple more cat5e cables to test with in case this is the problem, and I will set up a computer in the same room as the router next week to test it's not the house network points we have installed.

The reason I'm spending more time now trying to troubleshoot this as a router problem before setting up a PC in the building site to wire directly to the router to test that, is that the fault isn't behaving like a dodgy cabling problem. The outages are too regular, for too regular and short a length of time, and reliably reconnect themselves after several seconds.

Checking the cabling and rewiring the network points etc. is my stage after this one. Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7.36K
  • 765
  • 1.15K
jbrennand
Legend
295 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wired internet connection intermittantly drops for several seconds

The BQM will reveal regular dropouts nicely

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Jacobyswift
Joining in
295 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wired internet connection intermittantly drops for several seconds

Thanks. I've set that up. Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Jacobyswift
Joining in
252 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wired internet connection intermittantly drops for several seconds

Well, the BMQ has been running for a few days now and is only showing a couple of complete packet losses in that time.

So this either means that:

Their method of plotting the graph (each plotted point being the average of 100 seconds worth of pings) disguises the dropouts, which will I pressume only cause an average 10% drop if only 10 of those seconds are down.

The fault lies in the local network. (Router, PC, Cabling)

0 Kudos
Reply