cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long a new broadband installation normally takes?

wingsss
Tuning in

Hi,

I am new to virgin media and setup a contract in mid Oct, then the installation was delayed twice and will not be ready before late November. Should this be normal for new installation? And no one had told me what is the problem excerpt some “external work” need to be done.

Wayne

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Whatever the cause, 99% of organising the doing sits with VM, and 100% of the customer communication sits with VM.  The whole pre-installation and re-pull situation has been a diabolical shambles for many months now, and VM have resolutely refused to provide any explanation or clarity to customers, some of whom have waited months, with repeatedly broken installation dates, and repeatedly broken promises that the latest date is certain to be honoured.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

10 REPLIES 10

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
The VM installation process is in an awful state when things are not straightforward. Go through a number of threads on here and see the reasons why. My standard reply is....

Can you connect to OR,Sky, BT etc - or a 4G/5G service - perhaps on a 30-day contract?

If so do it now. Let the VM install run its course. You will pay nothing until VM's service is installed and operational When it finally happens you have 14 days in which to cancel it at no cost to yourself and keep the other service. Or, if VM is working to your satisfaction, keep it and cancel the other service (hence be better if you took a 30-day contract).

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired, 2 on WiFi) Hub5 in modem mode with Apple Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's & TP-Link Archer C64 WAP. On Volt 350Mbps, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.