cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Easiest way to get a replacement router modem

DrQuincy
Joining in

Our router is a couple of years old but it has started completely dropping the connection. It doesn't appear to be damaged in any way but I have noticed sometimes if you move it even a bit the connection drops. You need to restart everything and sometimes it can take a few goes to get back on.

When connected the online diagnostics say everything is fine.

I have checked the connections and they all look fine and have also disconnected and reconnected all the cables but it makes no difference, leading me to believe the problem is internal to the router.

When I go through the help section it does not seem to cover this. I'm pretty sure it's the router and therefore sending an engineer out would be a waste of resources if mailing out a new router would fix it — but then I am not an expert in broadband.

How can we get a replacement? I think this is simply a faulty router because it was working fine one day and then not the other — it hasn't been smashed or anything.

I know I could ring up but it says some of the call centres are closed so thought I'd try here first.

Thanks!

11 REPLIES 11

MikeRobbo
Alessandro Volta

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.