Menu
Reply
Imiandraks
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
376 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Constant broadband dropout

Hi all, 

I’ve been with Virgin broadband since March - since then I’ve always had signal dropouts but it hasn’t been too much bother until COVID and working from home. Although now it happens perhaps a dozen times a day and is so infuriating!!! I’ve done speed tests, online virgin connection checks, WiFi vs Ethernet checks, ensured coax fittings are tight and no kinks / damage to cabling - absolutely everything checks out fine but Im still getting these constant drop out of internet lasting up to 3-4 minutes every time. Initially the router would reset, but now that’s just stopped and it’s impossible to know what’s going on. 

it’s even more imperative that I have a strong connection now as I’ve moved my baby into his own room and we’re having to sleep with one eye and ear open at all times as we can’t trust the connection not to have dropped out and thus baby monitor stopped working.

Has anyone else had this problem? And if so we’re you able to fix it. 

jpeg1
  • 4.79K
  • 264
  • 773
Superstar
357 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant broadband dropout

Your experience is exactly why I wouldn't trust the wellbeing of my baby to an internet connection. A wireless direct baby monitor is not expensive, and far more reliable.  

0 Kudos
Reply
Imiandraks
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
343 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant broadband dropout

Thanks @jpeg1. I can’t see the part of your message detailing how to resolve the broadband issue. Let me know if you have any tips or help.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
298 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant broadband dropout

What is your connection like using a direct connection with a Cat 5E or better ethernet cable between the Hub and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook ?

 

May I advise you to download and install a Wi-Fi analyser to show if there are any foreign Wi-Fi broadcasts interfering with your own Wi-Fi signals and where there are poor signal strengths..

From there you can look at refining your own Wi-Fi broadcasts.

I use this one ...

WiFi Analyzer Premium - Apps on Google Play

wifi-2

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
297 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant broadband dropout

If possible can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Please post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here straight away.

Instructions for posting BQM Live Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
295 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant broadband dropout

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again.

Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen shots.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Imiandraks
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
280 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant broadband dropout

HI @MikeRobbo, thanks for getting back to me on this

So I have CAT6A cables so this shouldnt be an issue. But the thing is, it isnt the wifi that drops out, because I have one item that is patched in via ethernet. and that also goes down too - so it's definitely the router. 

None the less, i'll grab this app to double check it and see what could be wrong. It's 11:33 and Virgin Broadband has dropped out 3 times already today.

0 Kudos
Reply
Imiandraks
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
276 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant broadband dropout

Hi again @MikeRobbo,

thanks for walking me through this! I managed to get the link (through your great directions):

MY BQM

 

Let me know if this helps much.

0 Kudos
Reply
Imiandraks
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
274 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant broadband dropout

Hi again, network logs from router 3.0:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1186750000540256 qam7
21947500005.340256 qam8
32027500005.140256 qam9
42107500005.140256 qam10
5218750000540256 qam11
62267500004.640256 qam12
72347500004.440256 qam13
82427500004.140256 qam14
92507500004.140256 qam15
102587500004.340256 qam16
112667500004.540256 qam17
122747500004.440256 qam18
132827500004.440256 qam19
142907500004.440256 qam20
152987500004.640256 qam21
16306750000540256 qam22
173147500005.340256 qam23
183227500005.340256 qam24
19402750000540256 qam25
204107500004.640256 qam26
214187500004.140256 qam27
224267500004.140256 qam28
23434750000440256 qam29
24442750000440256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3110
2Locked40.360
3Locked40.3200
4Locked40.390
5Locked40.350
6Locked40.360
7Locked40.960
8Locked40.950
9Locked40.950
10Locked40.340
11Locked40.350
12Locked40.950
13Locked40.360
14Locked40.960
15Locked40.390
16Locked40.940
17Locked40.340
18Locked40.900
19Locked40.900
20Locked40.350
21Locked40.910
22Locked40.900
23Locked40.360
24Locked40.360
0 Kudos
Reply
Imiandraks
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
273 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant broadband dropout

upstream:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000044.8512064 qam6
24620000045512064 qam5
33260000044.8512064 qam7
42580000044.5512064 qam8



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply