Menu
Reply
RougePenguin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
476 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Connection Issues diy fix?

Hi All, 

Had a hub3 running in modem mode, with a TP link Archer 900. Started getting slow, swapped out the hub and 2 tech visits.

its now dropping off the network and reconnecting once or twice a day. Otherwise running at 100+ 

We had some building work done and the sparky put a new box outside. So cable comes off the street to VM Brown box, then onto the new junction box, and then to the router on Sky twin cable through the roof space.  

is the answer the sky cable and will running a new wf100 cable from the router to the original box solve the issue? It does involve spiders and lofts.....

0 Kudos
Reply
mattward
  • 18
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
470 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Issues diy fix?

Can you post your downstream Router stats from your Check router status at http://192.168.100.1

 

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.13K
  • 1.36K
  • 2.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
464 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Issues diy fix?

Hello

I am afraid that the modification of the cable by an unauthorized person is what is causing the problems, the sky cable isn't too the same spec as what VM use, as per T&C no modification cannot  be done by anybody but Virginmedia.

You are going to need an engineer too resolve this and as it is unauthorized modification that may be a chargeable call, of £99.

I have escalated to the VM forum team, one of the VM staff will be along in this thread to resolve it for you.

Regards Mike

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

nodrogd
  • 16.82K
  • 1.97K
  • 4.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
454 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Issues diy fix?

Virgin use triple screened cable that is specially manufactured to keep Freeview & DAB radio signals from entering their network, as they re-use the frequencies used by these broadcast services. The chances are 1) your installation is no longer “watertight” & is leaking RF onto the network. 2) You have unbalanced your signal levels by adding more cable or different connectors.

2 can be resolved by opening the street cabinet & adjusting your drop level, but 1 is far more of concern. If the RF leakage reaches the cabinet it can disrupt the service in the entire street as the noise gets amplified & sent to all your neighbours equipment.

This is why it’s against VM T&Cs to mess with their network cables. They do charge around £100 for non fault alterations, but a DIY job that causes noise could end up with a significant compensation claim for disrupting the streets services.

VM BB TV Landline PAYG mobile. Freeview/Freesat HD, Tesco Mobile. Customer since 1993

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
RougePenguin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
445 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Issues diy fix?

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11870000005.938256 qam7
21950000005.138256 qam8
32030000004.538256 qam9
42110000004.338256 qam10
52190000003.737256 qam11
62270000003.737256 qam12
72350000003.538256 qam13
82430000003.438256 qam14
9251000000338256 qam15
102590000002.938256 qam16
112670000002.538256 qam17
122750000002.538256 qam18
132830000002.438256 qam19
142910000002.538256 qam20
152990000002.437256 qam21
163070000002.237256 qam22
173150000001.738256 qam23
183230000001.738256 qam24
193790000002.438256 qam25
203870000001.938256 qam26
213950000002.738256 qam27
22403000000338256 qam28
23411000000338256 qam29
244190000002.738256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.637321432
2Locked38.635911330
3Locked38.636761170
4Locked38.634681238
5Locked37.934691107
6Locked37.633521174
7Locked38.931831218
8Locked38.630591095
9Locked38.628561085
10Locked38.62741951
11Locked38.62695843
12Locked38.92476825
13Locked38.92462890
14Locked38.62353868
15Locked37.62258872
16Locked37.62137726
17Locked38.61992586
18Locked38.61827510
19Locked38.61257261
20Locked38.6119271
21Locked38.61238109
22Locked38.61254151
23Locked38.91210102
24Locked38.9117399
0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.13K
  • 1.36K
  • 2.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
438 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Issues diy fix?

Hello

Yep that confirms the noise on the line, will certainly need an engineer to resolve, there is a high number of Post RS Errors.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
RougePenguin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
435 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Issues diy fix?

On the subject of the cabling, it was done while we were moved out as it was a full renovation. Levels seem to be fine during visits from both techs, 3db attenuator added last time to try and fix it. 

 There’s no way to get the cable in to the house without drilling holes everywhere and the current cable can’t be pulled out to run the new cable as it was all done with the ceiling down. 

ive ordered a reel of wf100 to connect directly back to the VM box. 

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.13K
  • 1.36K
  • 2.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
427 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Issues diy fix?

Hello

Only a VM engineer can modify the cable you are just compounding the problem.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
BatletUK
  • 120
  • 6
  • 16
Up to speed
419 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Issues diy fix?

Added to which the cable needs to be properly terminated. I really don't  think Sky style screw on F plugs will comply  😎

0 Kudos
Reply
RougePenguin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
409 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection Issues diy fix?

The last VM engineer actually advised rerunning with webro wf100, that’s why I bought it? It also takes a another split out of the line. 



appreciate your help Mike/all

 

0 Kudos
Reply