cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Coax cable dont fit the wall socket

Ceren19
Tuning in
  • The two ends of the coax cable are the same and one end fits the modem but the other end doesn't fit the wall plug 
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
15 REPLIES 15

JOE-C
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)

Hi there,

So we can advise could you attach a photo of the wall socket you have?

Thank you

Joe 

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

20210915_185538.jpg

asim18
Fibre optic

There is a small metal cover on the tip of the socket which you need to remove. You should have received a little plastic wrench to unscrew it.

20210915_195031.jpgis it this one? There's a thin wire inside but both ends of the coax cable are male with a thin wire inside?

Adduxi
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

You need one of these  Tristar Data cable coupler | DIY at B&Q

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Yes that's the cap off but what's that coming out of the centre of the socket? There shouldn't be a wire in the centre of the socket there, it should be a tiny hole which accepts the thin wire from the middle of the coax cable.

Try grip the wire and tug it a little, but keep one hand on the face-plate don't want to pull the whole thing off the wall.

@Adduxi wrote:

You need one of these  Tristar Data cable coupler | DIY at B&Q

He's just taken a male f-type termination cap off of a female connector. That coupler you have linked will not mate with his socket.

Yes, done!! Thanks a lot, I've been going between my community management, virgin for days and none were able to tell me what to do