cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I find out when fibre will be available?

mojo-chan
Dialled in

Is there somewhere that VM lists expected dates for fibre roll out? At the moment my area only has slow DOCSIS.

39 REPLIES 39

BumbleVMTech
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)

Hi, Fibre still uses docsis system, both HFC and Fibre to the house are capable of 1gig download speeds

Rich

Here to help! Im a Field Technician helping out from home.

Find out more
************ FANCY £50 OFF YOUR BILL ************

****************** ASK ME HOW ******************

Okay, well I just need a decent upload speed. 35mb isn't enough so when can I get more than that?

Ideally looking for 1 gig but 100mb would do.

Frankly the chances of getting gigabit upstream from Virgin Media in the foreseeable future is close to zero, 100 Meg, possibly in the next couple of years.

For those levels of bandwidth you need to look at one of the FTTP suppliers, if there already is one in your area then fine, otherwise you can get Openreach to run fibre on demand to you, as long as you have quite a few tens of thousands of pounds going spare! 

I thought VM was doing FTTP in some areas now? How come the speed isn't full fibre 1000/1000?

HowardML
Superuser Emeritus
Superuser Emeritus
Because the system uses DOCSIS 3.1 which for the moment only offers asynchronous upload and download speeds via VM.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

So they are installing fibre but using rubbish technology that doesn't allow it to run at even 1 gigabit upload? I note that other countries with fibre networks are deploying 20 gigabit upload speeds right now.

picard-meme-facepalm

nodrogd
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

@mojo-chan wrote: