cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working from home - wifi extenders

Ellie216
On our wavelength

I’ve been working from home since March 2020 with no issues on my wifi. 
just had a massive system update on my work pc & it started freezing up and losing connection. 
Work IT guy has told me that it’s not my laptop it’s my wifi. I happen to know it’s not my wifi but the muppet won’t authorise a fix on my laptop until I install a wifi extender and see how it works after that (idiot) 

so all I need is for one of you lovely VM people to advise me on how to buy wifi extenders please. Many thanks

11 REPLIES 11

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Are you using a VPN - these can be problematic?

Does the laptop work ok when you connect it on an ethernet cable?

Can it connect on wifi when in an internet cafe/bar/pub.. etc.?

Do your other wifi devices work ok on the VM Hub?

What Hub model and package are you on.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired, 2 on WiFi) Hub5 in modem mode with Apple Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's & TP-Link Archer C64 WAP. On Volt 350Mbps, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.

Everything works absolutely fine. I stream music & films all the time when I’m not working with no issues at all 

I have a hub 3 on M500

plus one of my colleagues who lives in a completely different park of the country with a different internet provider is also having the exact same problem

this is why I know it’s my wifi

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

I dont follow this. If someone miles away is having the same issue on a different wifi connection - then that observation says it not the wifi its something to do with the laptops.

Again... are you connecting into work on a VPN?  If you are - look at this...