cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working from home and unable to connect to network drives

lfcsja
Tuning in

Hi, I have been working from home without an issue for the last two years. Over the last few weeks I have started to experience an intermittent issue that means I can't connect to my work's network drives for long periods of the day. My home WiFi has been working perfectly during this time. Occasionally the problem is resolved for the rest of the day by switching my Hub off for 30 minutes at a time. Unfortunately this isn't always effective and I need a permanent resolution. 

The IT department in my work have looked into the issue extensively and believe the issue is down to my Hub 3.0 as it has to connect to the work network drives via VPN. They think my Hub needs to be replaced and upgraded.

On Friday I relayed this message to VM via a Live Chat and the advisor said he would send a booster signal and recommended I performed a factory reset on the Hub. Unfortunately this hasn't resolved the issue. Can anyone please advise what to do next as it is very frustrating? 

8 REPLIES 8

legacy1
Alessandro Volta
Connect pc to hub in modem mode (change to modem mode power off for 2mins then turn back on unplug replug ethernet cable till you get internet) and test the connection like that then look at getting your own router with 1Gb ports.
---------------------------------------------------------------

I wouldn't know where to begin with that. 

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Can you still connect on an ethernet cable connected device when wifo ones drop out - If you don't know, can you check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection/Hub related?

There are lots of threads on this forum re. VPN issues and VM Hubs. Do a search and see if any offer any solutions.