Menu
Highlighted
VeetaG
Tuning in
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Wifi issues, use new router?

Hi everyone

This is my first time posting here. I apologise if this is in the wrong section. After a 20+ minute wait in the queue on the phone, only to be disconnected, I thought I'd have better luck here.

I've been with VM for a year on the 100mb/s broadband and have been having terrible wifi and speed issues. My wifi is fine in the living room but quite bad in the kitchen 5 metres away and terrible upstairs. I've tried keeping electrical equipment that may interfere with the router away and have purchased a tplink450 wifi booster which only helped slightly but was mostly a waste of £55

I never had these issues with my previous supplier. I cancelled my broadband with virgin last week due to being out of contract and a big price increase on top of my wifi/speed issues. But other suppliers aren't able to offer me speeds of more than 10 mb/s and with the kids and grandkids all wanting to use their devices when they are over (often), I think I'll have to stick with virgin...so I'll have to begrudgingly call and uncancel my cancellation? I assume I can do this? The man who cancelled my broadband was very abrupt but I think he told my son it would end in 30 days. I would like to resolve these issues before I do/decide if I will.