Menu
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Dcrad87
Joining in
502 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

WiFi probelm

Hi,

We've got the M200 fibre broadband package but experiencing nowhere near that. The only wired device we have is the virgin media TV box and as far as I'm aware there is no way to carry out a speed test on this? However I have noticed a lot of buffering on standard definition streaming so clearly an issue there as well.

The WiFi on our devices is so bad we have resorted to switching it off and using 4g. My latest speed tests have recorded embarrassingly bad results with download speeds between 0.09 and 0.54 Mbps. These are consitent across various devices in close proximity to the router.

Upon contacting virgin I was extremely disappointed to be offered a booster at an extra £3 per month - a ludicrous suggestion. I have tried resetting the hub numerous times, what can I do next? Virgin have been so unhelpful so far.

Any help much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Douglas

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.02K
  • 144
  • 217
DJ_Shadow1966
Knows their stuff
482 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi probelm

Hello

Can you post the stats from the router as it could be a signal level.

Mike

I dont work for VirginMedia all opinions are my own.
39 years in IT.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Dcrad87
Joining in
478 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi probelm

Cheers Mike where do I find the router stats?

 

Douglas

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.02K
  • 144
  • 217
DJ_Shadow1966
Knows their stuff
461 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: WiFi probelm

Hi Doug

Open up the web page for the router at http://192.168.0.1

Once opened click on where it says Check router status under the login box.

Then take copy the data from all the tab and paste into a reply, somebody will look at them to check the power levels.

Regards Mike

I dont work for VirginMedia all opinions are my own.
39 years in IT.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Dcrad87
Joining in
448 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi probelm

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12830000006.838256 qam19
2139000000937256 qam1
31470000009.137256 qam2
4155000000937256 qam3
51630000008.637256 qam4
61710000008.537256 qam5
7179000000837256 qam6
81870000007.637256 qam7
9195000000737256 qam8
102030000006.937256 qam9
112110000006.537256 qam10
122190000006.137256 qam11
13227000000637256 qam12
14235000000637256 qam13
15243000000637256 qam14
162510000006.637256 qam15
172590000006.837256 qam16
182670000006.837256 qam17
192750000006.637256 qam18
202910000006.937256 qam20
212990000007.137256 qam21
223070000007.338256 qam22
233150000007.138256 qam23
243230000007.138256 qam24
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Dcrad87
Joining in
447 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi probelm

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6330
2Locked37.3572387
3Locked37.62900
4Locked37.31010
5Locked37.6760
6Locked37.3730
7Locked37.61130
8Locked37.31200
9Locked37.6600
10Locked37.6630
11Locked37.3660
12Locked37.3730
13Locked37.3760
14Locked37.3720
15Locked37.3670
16Locked37.6530
17Locked37.6490
18Locked37.6780
19Locked37.6670
20Locked37.6560
21Locked37.61100
22Locked38.9780
23Locked38.6790
24Locked38.63350
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Dcrad87
Joining in
446 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi probelm

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1461999703.95512016 qam91
2257999393.8512016 qam94
3326000103.875512016 qam93
4393999813.925512016 qam92



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.02K
  • 144
  • 217
DJ_Shadow1966
Knows their stuff
371 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi probelm

Hello

Power levels are all outside of the limits hence why your speeds are shot, you will need an engineer.

MIke

I dont work for VirginMedia all opinions are my own.
39 years in IT.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Dcrad87
Joining in
370 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi probelm

Ok Mike I'll get back on the phone to them later. Thank you very much for your help, much appreciated.

 

Douglas

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 26.25K
  • 1.12K
  • 4.32K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
366 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi probelm

power levels look fine.

are the speeds low on wired connections as well

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply