cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WiFi drops out when downloading

bhoughton
Tuning in

Every time I try and download over WiFi from my home PC the WiFi drops out. I get great speeds on 5G around 20MB/s but it seems the Hub4 can't handle it.

I've also noticed the fan becoming pretty loud on the Hub4 even when not downloading, could this be an overheating issue? Is my Hub4 on its way out?

8 REPLIES 8

g0akc
Problem sorter

@bhoughton wrote:

I get great speeds on 5G around 20MB/s but it seems the Hub4 can't handle it.

What do you mean by 5G?   Is that on mobile data (with a SIM card off a mobile phone) or do you mean with 5GHz Wi-Fi from your hub?  They are different things.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!

"the WiFi drops out"

Don't forget there are 2 ends to a WiFi connection -  the PC could be dropping the WiFi link.

5GHz and the WiFi drops for every device in the house not just the PC

So many things to check

• are wired connections okay?
  • any lights change on hub?
  • are ALL your wifi drivers up to date 
  • do other devices loose connection even if pc off?
  • how far from hub?
  • Try a free wifi analyser app - does that show anything 
  • clash of channels with neighbours?
  • try changing channels 
  • ultimately get your own wifi kit - look at using hub in modem mode 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!

• are wired connections okay?
  •     Yes
  • any lights change on hub?
  •       No
  • are ALL your wifi drivers up to date