cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WI FI WOES IN LIVING ROOM

budgie54
On our wavelength

REceived an email last week  telling me Intelligent Wifi got my back and they’d found a traffic jam in my home but that it has now been optimised to correct said traffic jam. It found gadgets were running into a bit of a WiFi traffic jam so it’s switched them to the quietest lanes.     

Well since this has happened my wifi had dipped in my living room and kitchen areas.  The other 2 beds are fine.   Was all working perfectly well before this and I had no complaints with it.  I’m on one level and all my rooms are next to each other or just across from each other.  I’ve done all the usual things.   Can someone from Virgin maybe assist and tell me what to do from here and how I get my wifi back to working perfectly in both areas again as it was before it was interfered with please.  Keep it simple I’m not a techie.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@jbrennand I think they may suggest you do a pinhole reset on the Hub - and it would return it to the exact same settings you had before they changed it - and all connectivity "should" revert back.

I'd have thought "intelligent wifi" was enabled by default in the latest firmware?  And if that uses any remote data analysis to drive changes, then sooner or later it will repeat the changes.

Like John, I'm ensuring I have complete control over my wifi by providing my own wifi gear and operating the hub in modem mode.  That gets me better wifi that nobody meddles with, but spending around £100 to do that isn't everybody's cup of tea.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

16 REPLIES 16

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
They have taken it upon themselves to start doing this - even if not asked for. was everything working ok for you previously or were there issues?