Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Ronanm
Joining in
579 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Vivid 350 dreadful download speed

Hi there, 

i recently upgraded my package to vivid 350 from 100 and I’m currently getting dreadful download speeds of nothing more than 70mb+!!! I am getting around 21 upload which I feel is fine but getting that download speed is embarrassing considering they say 350+ even at peak times. Someone help please.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.21K
  • 1.01K
  • 3.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
570 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Vivid 350 dreadful download speed

wired or wireless - always test wired - if you are testing wired then check you have a gigabit network card and are using a cat5e cable or better - worth trying another cable even if it is cat5e

you could post some settings from the hub

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Ronanm
Joining in
563 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 dreadful download speed

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000007.640256 qam21
23230000008.340256 qam24
3315000000840256 qam23
43070000007.940256 qam22
52910000007.840256 qam20
62830000008.440256 qam19
72750000008.540256 qam18
82670000008.540256 qam17
92590000008.540256 qam16
102510000008.540256 qam15
112430000008.140256 qam14
122350000008.440256 qam13
132270000008.440256 qam12
142190000008.640256 qam11
152110000008.640256 qam10
162030000008.840256 qam9
171950000008.940256 qam8
181870000009.340256 qam7
19179000000940256 qam6
20171000000940256 qam5
21163000000940256 qam4
221550000008.940256 qam3
23147000000940256 qam2
241390000008.840256 qam1



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.320
2Locked40.920
3Locked40.970
4Locked40.980
5Locked40.960
6Locked40.340
7Locked40.960
8Locked40.990
9Locked40.9100
10Locked40.970
11Locked40.380
12Locked40.980
13Locked40.9120
14Locked40.380
15Locked40.3100
16Locked40.950
17Locked40.9240
18Locked40.9210
19Locked40.3150
20Locked40.970
21Locked40.350
22Locked40.970
23Locked40.350
24Locked40.370
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Ronanm
Joining in
562 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 dreadful download speed

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000041.5512016 qam7
23260000041512016 qam8
32580000040.8512016 qam9
45370000041.5512016 qam10



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.21K
  • 1.01K
  • 3.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
556 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 dreadful download speed

downstream is to the top end +10 is the max although it can work fine above that - i dont think thats the problem - upstream is fine

so how are you testing to get 70 down

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Ronanm
Joining in
549 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 dreadful download speed

It seems to just be on my wireless apple devices. Amazon fire sticks and a Samsung galaxy s7 are peeking 390+ yet an iPhone 6s+ won’t go about 100 now and same with the iPad.

i have received 160 yesterday but worse today 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6.23K
  • 481
  • 1.03K
Tudor
Hero
538 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 dreadful download speed

Have you separated the 2 WiFi bands on your Hub3? As shipped the 2.4 and 5Ghz bands have the same SSID name. Go into your hub, need to logon this time, and give each band a different name like xxx-2 and xxx-5, the passwords can be the same. Then try to connect the iPhone to the xxx-5 first, if this does not work you will have to use the xxx-2 band, but you will not get the full speed of your connection. I have seen this problem before on previous model iPhones.


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Ronanm
Joining in
531 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 dreadful download speed

I have a list to choose from, i do have 2.4 disabled but where do I edit the names 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.46K
  • 980
  • 1.49K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
516 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Vivid 350 dreadful download speed

If you want to differentiate the 2 networks do this.

Go into the Hub3 settings... (type in  http://192.168.0.1  or  http://192.168.100.1 if in modem mode) into your web browser’s url box) and in "smart wifi" (if you have it)  disable"channel optimisation" - save changes.  Then, go to advanced>wireless>security,rename the 2.4 & 5 GHz network ssid's.  Just change 'em to whatever you like and something that will differentiate them (e.g - xxxxx2 & xxxxx5) -- use the same password  if you like,  Then, save settings and restart the Hub.  Your 2 wifi networks will now be clearly separated - and you can then select the network you want to connect to individually from the "available networks" list on each device.  5 GHz is usually better and subject to less interference than the 2.4 one - although this one has the better "range" and some older/cheaper/dumber devices can only use this one.  Also use a wifi analyser App to check which 2.4 channels are being heavily used around you and move yours to one that is less so.    See if that helps - you will lose the “seamless roaming” benefits but it may not matter and you can always "factory reset" it back if you prefer.


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.32K
  • 281
  • 591
Forum Team (Retired) Emma_E
Forum Team (Retired)
298 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 350 dreadful download speed

Hi Ronanm,

 Thanks for getting in touch. I am sorry to see you have had trouble with your connection.

 

I have taken a look and things seem to be ok from this side. It may help to try the following so we can rule some things out:

Pop the hub into Modem Mode with the computer in Safe Mode with Networking at different times of the day.

Try on separate devices.

Check Ethernet cable. Make sure it is new / up to date. (Cat 5e or above).

Make sure device is capable of agreed speed.

Check wireless card slide.

It may also help to separate you WiFi modes

Access your Hub by navigating to 192.168.0.1

Login with the default login info (on base of Hub) unless you've already updated it.

Go to Advanced Settings > Wireless > Security

Under Wireless Frequency 2.4GHz change the Wifi Network Name (SSID) and the Wifi password (network key).

Repeat for the Wireless Frequency 5GHz and click on Apply changes.

Take care.

 Emma


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply