cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virgin wifi pod low speed

sumitapata
Tuning in

Hi Community,

I am new to virgin media (December) and having issues getting reliable speeds (that I pay for) in every part of the house. I have a 350 mbps connection.

I have ordered 3 wifi pods to far to improve the speed and reach but still struggling.

Hence I am starting off on a optimisation work. I have switched off all 3 pods and trying to optimise 1 at a time.

But I see an issue as soon as I start. I have an area in the kitchen I am getting 270 mbps with just from the hub. But the other end of the kitchen is a dead spot. So I placed the 1st pod at the place where I got 270 mbps. But if I turn the pod ON I get at the exact same spot 30-40 mbps.

This sounds worrying. I have tried resets and with multiple speed test apps. But the behaviour is same. At the same good spot, speed is good with hub only but bad with pod.

Are the pods working correctly and giving the expected speed?

13 REPLIES 13

carl_pearce
Community elder

@sumitapata wrote:

Hi Community,

I am new to virgin media (December) and having issues getting reliable speeds (that I pay for) in every part of the house. I have a 350 mbps connection.

I have ordered 3 wifi pods to far to improve the speed and reach but still struggling.

Hence I am starting off on a optimisation work. I have switched off all 3 pods and trying to optimise 1 at a time.

But I see an issue as soon as I start. I have an area in the kitchen I am getting 270 mbps with just from the hub. But the other end of the kitchen is a dead spot. So I placed the 1st pod at the place where I got 270 mbps. But if I turn the pod ON I get at the exact same spot 30-40 mbps.

This sounds worrying. I have tried resets and with multiple speed test apps. But the behaviour is same. At the same good spot, speed is good with hub only but bad with pod.

Are the pods working correctly and giving the expected speed?