Menu
Reply
BenjiW82
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
483 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Virgin modem mode and google wifi

Hi.

We have had the Virgin 2ac router setup with google WiFi for a number of months, and working fine. Both were set in router mode and causing a double NAT, so we have finally got round to setting the virgin box to modem mode only. This switch works fine (better connectivity, etc). However I have to reset the virgin box everyday as something must conflict. connectivity is still there as home devices still work but reaching out to websites, work VPN, etc does not respond. 
has anyone had anything similar?

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 31.33K
  • 1.94K
  • 4.22K
Alessandro Volta
472 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin modem mode and google wifi

Is there anything else connected to the hub other than the Google node?

Everything else needs to connect to the Google node and not the hub directly. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
BenjiW82
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
464 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin modem mode and google wifi

Hi,
nothing else plugged into the virgin box. We have a switch coming off of the google node.
Many Thanks

ben 

0 Kudos
Reply
BenjiW82
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
406 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin modem mode and google wifi

as a follow up to this, we asked Google help to take a look who ran a series of diagnostic checks. A couple of sections to change (use of ipv6 and forcing to use Virgin’s DNS. however, that still did not cure the problem of having to reboot the virgin modem everyday. 

Google then ran a diagnostic check report and discovered that we are having multiple DHCP dropouts a day which could be caused by the modem not fully initialising or another setup needing to be tweaked. Has anyone else had this problem and what did they do to resolve?

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 31.33K
  • 1.94K
  • 4.22K
Alessandro Volta
399 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin modem mode and google wifi

What are "multiple DHCP dropouts"?
Where were they seeing this?

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
BenjiW82
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
391 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin modem mode and google wifi

the DHCP dropouts were referenced in the diagnostic report that Google ran within the app - I don’t have access to them unfortunately. 

if I look at the network log on the modem, there are some critical messages. not sure if these help:

 

Network LogFirst TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription04/01/2021 10:19:13 GMT04/01/2021 10:19:13 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out04/01/2021 06:28:49 GMT04/01/2021 06:28:49 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established04/01/2021 06:28:39 GMT04/01/2021 06:28:39 GMTNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully04/01/2021 06:28:34 GMT04/01/2021 06:28:34 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out04/01/2021 06:28:34 GMT04/01/2021 06:28:34 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out04/01/2021 06:28:33 GMT04/01/2021 06:28:33 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out04/01/2021 06:28:31 GMT04/01/2021 06:28:31 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out04/01/2021 06:24:54 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:54 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout04/01/2021 06:24:54 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:54 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout04/01/2021 06:24:54 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:54 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout04/01/2021 06:24:53 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:53 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout04/01/2021 06:24:53 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:53 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout04/01/2021 06:24:53 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:53 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout04/01/2021 06:24:53 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:53 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout04/01/2021 06:24:51 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:51 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout04/01/2021 06:24:48 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:48 GMTCritical (3)84000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync04/01/2021 06:24:48 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:48 GMTCritical (3)84000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync04/01/2021 06:24:00 GMT04/01/2021 06:24:00 GMTError (4)68000407TOD establishedTime Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully02/01/2021 15:58:42 GMT

 

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 31.33K
  • 1.94K
  • 4.22K
Alessandro Volta
386 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin modem mode and google wifi

Post the upstream and downstream logs too please 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
BenjiW82
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
376 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin modem mode and google wifi

Upstream log

Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID4213
Frequency (Hz)25800000394000004620000032600000
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessSuccessSuccess
Modulation32QAM64QAM64QAM64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)42.5042.2542.5042.25
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts1000
T4 Timeouts0000
0 Kudos
Reply
BenjiW82
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
373 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin modem mode and google wifi

Downstream log

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8
Frequency (Hz)435000000411000000419000000427000000443000000451000000459000000467000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID41235678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)10.179.6110.0210.089.9710.1210.2510.17
RxMER (dB)36.3935.2535.6035.9736.6136.3935.9736.61
Pre RS Errors6873497069614191043122312711181
Post RS Errors300982286970852957935888
 
0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 31.33K
  • 1.94K
  • 4.22K
Alessandro Volta
369 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin modem mode and google wifi

Some of your downstream levels are too high and out of spec. You’ll need an engineer to put right. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply