Menu
rsubs
Joining in
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Virgin media vpn

Hi all, 

I am a remote worker and my work has whitelisted my public IP for virgin media to allow me access to certain applications. 

I have an issue when I am outside my house I am unable to access any of my work applications since the IP is different e.g. when using my mobile data to hotspot. 

Is there any way I can access my VM public IP address regardless of whatever internet provider I am corrected to? I would have thought a VPN or similar may help achieve this but I am very new to all this stuff so would appreciate any help / guides.

Thanks. 

0 Kudos
chenks
Trouble shooter
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin media vpn

no, of course you can't use your Virgin broadand IP when using other providers!
0 Kudos
rsubs
Joining in
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Can't I set up some kind of VPN to access my home network though? thats what we used to do at my old job. I had a VPN programme which meant when I was on the VPN all the internet traffic was going though my work's external IP... they had provided the config we needed... So surely it must be possible?
0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

you could remote access your home pc/laptop and then use that to jump to your works network.. e.g. gotomyPC, Teamviewer, VNC connect..

--------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up on kudos. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution, but only do this once issue has been resolved.
0 Kudos
chenks
Trouble shooter
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

@rsubs wrote: